Directors appointed at HEA meeting

Posted: Thursday, May 18, 2006

Homer Electric Association members have re-elected two incumbents and voted in a new representative — running uncontested — to the electric cooperative’s board of directors.

The announcement was made during the cooperative’s annual meeting in early May in Homer.

The members of HEA who attended were on hand to hear that incumbents Bruce Passe of Kenai, Dave Carey of Soldotna and new member Don Seelinger of Seldovia were elected.

The directors represent Districts 1, 2 and 3, respectively.

Passe received 788 votes, Carey received 1,142 and Seelinger received 1,050.

The total number of ballots received from members peninsulawide was 3,161.

HEA also handed out $2,000 scholarships to six Alaska students, announced winners in its youth rally and poster contests, recognized outstanding employees and handed out energy credits, ranging from $50 to $500, as door prizes to attendees.

About 300 people attended the meeting.

The $2,000 scholarship winners were:

· Jennifer Werth, Soldotna High School;

· Alee Rowley, Kenai Central High School;

· Jenna Raymond, Homer High School;

· Patricia Hanson Gillam, Kenai Peninsula College;

· LaVonna James-Liberty, Kenai Peninsula College; and

· Celeste C. Morningstarr, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Youth rally winners were:

· Christopher C. Hall, KCHS; and

· Joel Ribbons, Nikiski High School

Safety poster contest winners were:

· Tommy Sheldon, West Homer Elementary, for Best Safety Message;

· Haralambos Asimakopoulos, Redoubt Elementary, for Most Creative Message; and

· Kathleen VanVolkenburg, home school, Nikiski, for most Humorous Message.

The HEA Employee Recognition went to Youth Rally coordinator Marianne Snowden, and HEA Service Board recognition awards went to Dave Carey, Mike Pate, Hugh Chumley, Ruth Fitzpatrick and Roseleen (Snooks) Moore.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us