Peninsula People

Posted: Monday, May 22, 2000

SoHi graduate honored at university

Elexis McBee, a senior biology and pre-medicine major at The University of Findlay, in Findlay, Ohio, was named to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, received the Fifth-Year Internship Award and was honored for participation in the University Internship Program.

She is a 1995 graduate of Soldotna High School and is the daughter of Diane and Terry McBee, of Soldotna.

Student receives scholarship

Jessica Sotelo, a junior at the University of Puget Sound, has been awarded the George J. Matelich scholarship for the 2000-01 academic year. Sotelo is an exercise science major with a minor in biology, she plans to become a physical therapist.

KCHS grad in internship program

Megan E. McNair participated in the internship program at the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University during the spring semester.

Students take an internship for credit work in coordination with a faculty moderator and a supervisor from the organization.

McNair, a sophomore pre-physical therapy major, interned at the YMCA as a marketing and special events coordinator.

She is the daughter of Robert and Linda McNair, of Kenai.

Peninsula students receive scholarships

Laura Krusen, of Kenai, is the recipient of the Karen Hornaday Memorial Scholarship. She also received a $4,500 Academic Achievement Scholarship, a $3,000 Artistic Achievement in Drama Scholarship and a $1,000 Arts Scholarship from Pacific Lutheran University.

She is a 2000 graduate of Kenai Central High School and will attend Pacific Lutheran College in Tacoma, Wash. where she plans to study music, theater and dance.

She is the daughter of Rebecca Lambourn and Herbert Schaan, of Kenai, and Leslie Krusen, of Anchorage.

Dustin J. Vasicek received a $1,000 scholarship from the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce, a $2,000 scholarship from the Builders Association, a $1,250 scholarship from Tesoro and a $500 scholarship from the American Legion.

Vasicek has been attending welding certification classes as well as high school.

He recently graduated from Skyview and will return to Kenai Peninsula College in the fall.

Theresa Chihuly, a student at Ninilchik School, and Jennifer Wambach, a student at Homer High School, won $5,000 scholarships from Phillips Alaska Inc.

Jillian Campbell, a student at Seward High School, and Joel Reemtsma, a student at Kenai Central High School, were awarded $3,000 scholarships from Phillips.

Eight Alaska high school students received a $5,000 scholarship designated for students planning to attend an Alaska college, university or trade school. Twelve $3,000 general scholarships were awarded.

SoHi students win national awards

Jessica Foster, a student at Soldotna High School, was named a United States National Award Winner in leadership skills by the United States Achievement Academy.

She was nominated for this award by Mr. Hepner, a counselor at SoHi. She is the daughter of Steve and Becky Foster, of Soldotna.

Tara Cutting, a student at Soldotna High School, was named a United States National Award Winner in leadership and service skills by the United States Achievement Academy.

She was nominated for this award by Mr. Hepner, a counselor at SoHi. She is the daughter of Glenn and Carla Cutting, of Soldotna.

These awards are a prestigious honor and the Academy recognizes less than 10 percent of all American high school students. She will appear in the United States Achievement Academy Official Yearbook, which is published nationally.

Skyview student receives invitation

Sarah Catherine Parker, a junior at Skyview High School, has been invited to attend the Phi Delta Kappa International's 2000 Summer Camp and Institute for Prospective Teachers.

The camp will be held in June on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Ind.

She is the daughter of Elizabeth and Robb Jones.

Tribal member celebrates

Herman Darien Lindgren, the oldest male Kenaitze tribal member will turn 80 today. A celebration was held Sunday with his family.

He was raised in Kenai and trapped in Cooper Landing. He built a cabin with his uncle in 1938 in what is now the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge, near Stepanka, the last occupied Dena'ina village up the Kenai River. The cabin is being nominated for the National Historic Register.

Soroptimist awards presented

Soroptimists International of the Twin Cities held its annual awards ceremony at Charlotte's Restaurant on May 11.

Recipients include:

Luella Barker, Women of Distinction

Donna Peterson, Women of Distinction

Lois Pillifant, Women Helping Women

Sara Beth Krein, Youth Citizenship Award

Cherilee Beaudry, Women's Opportunity Award

The awards of Women of Distinction and Women Helping Women are part of an established Soroptimist Program entitled Making a Difference for Women Awards Program.

The Women Helping Women Award recognizes women in the community who distinguish themselves by their personal resources, talents and influence to help other women achieve their potential.

The Women of Distinction Award honors women of exemplary character and integrity and leadership ability in one or more of the Soroptimists programs of service.

The Youth Citizenship scholarship award is given to a high school student in recognition of the contributions they have made at home, school, community, country and the world.

The Women's Opportunity Award scholarship award is made to a mature women entering or returning to the job market and completing specific vocational, technical or undergraduate educational programs.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us