Posted: Wednesday, May 22, 2002

Skyview High School recently held its annual awards night. The following students won scholarships and recognition:

Anna Barnes, 4.0 Superintendent List and UAA Scholars Program tuition waiver Randy Berg, career path certification and $500 Kenai Kings Craig Bisgard, $50 National Ocean Science Bowl and UAA Scholars Program Kelsey Bossert, $500 Soldotna Lions Club Savannah Carlon, business education student of the year Jennifer Carpenter, U.S. Marine Corps female athlete Bobby Childers, career path certification and $1,000 Men of the Moose Carrie Collins, $50 VFW Voice of Democracy, $75 Vicki Webb Nelson Memorial and $750 XTO Energy Laura Cooper, $500 Peninsula Grace Brethren Church, $100 Soldotna Elks Lodge No. 2706 and $100 National Ocean Science Bowl Sid Cox, U.S. Air Force Math/Science Award Shaina Daris, UAA Scholars Program Neil Darling, choir student of the year Desirae Dix, 4.0 Superintendent List, valedictorian and UAA Scholars Program Jenipher Dobson, $500 Soldotna Lions Club Summer Engler, 4.0 Superintendent List, valedictorian, Tesoro Student of the Year 2000, UAA Scholars Program and $75 VFW Voice of Democracy Ely Evanson, $500 American Legion Post 20 and $1,000 Tesoro Vocational scholarship Chris Ferrell, physical education student of the year Glen Fraser, band student of the year and U.S. Marine Corps music award Ilva Gulane, foreign exchange -- Latvia Jinnie Hanson, 4.0 Superintendent List, career path certification, principal leadership award, valedictorian, $1,000 Soldotna Chamber of Commerce scholarship, $500 Soldotna Elks, social studies student of the year, U.S. Marine Corps scholastic award and UAA Scholars Program Kristine Harris, $100 National Ocean Science Bowl Christine Hayes, 4.0 Superintendent List, $1,000 Agrium, career path certification, valedictorian, $750 Soldotna Elks, math student of the year and UAA Scholars Program Tiffany Helfer, 4.0 Superintendent List, $500 American Legion Women's Auxiliary, Kenai Peninsula College, $100 Soldotna Elks and work co-op student of the year Angle Hollers, $1,600 Agrium Employees, $7,500 Alaska Teacher Scholarship loan program, $1,345 Evangel University, $2,000 Joyce Carver Memorial, $500 Kenai Peninsula Central Labor Council, $500 Martin Luther King, $500 Peninsula Oilers Baseball Club, $3,000 Phillips Alaska Inc., Prudential Spirit of Community award, $600 Soldotna Elks, $500 Vicki Webb Nelson Memorial and $1,000 Walter Von Wald Shari Isaak, 4.0 Superintendent List, $350 Kenai Peninsula Admin-istrators Association, $250 student athlete of the year, valedictorian and UAA Scholars Program Charisse Keene, $1,000 Soldotna Chamber Nicholas Kneba, foreign exchange -- Germany Roxane Kotzin, Alaska State Room scholarship, $4,000 Central Peninsula General Hospital, valedictorian, $1,000 Soldotna Rotary Club and UAA Scholars Program Tony Lewis, Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete award, $2,500 Montana State University -- Bozeman, $250 Soldotna Elks, science student of the year and UAA Scholars Program Katie Lockwood, valedictorian, $500 Marge O'Reilly Performing Arts, $1,000 Soldotna Chamber, choir student of the year and UAA Scholars Program Jerry Lousberg, vocational/technology education student of the year Amanda Marshall, battle of the books award Mark McGarry, $250 athlete of the year, $1,000 Soldotna Chamber, $100 Tom Thorpe, U.S. Marine Corps Athlete award, UAA Scholars Program, Wendy's High School Heisman and $16,000 Whitworth College Amanda McKinley, 4.0 Superintendent List, salutatorian, UAA Scholars Program and $100 VFW Voice of Democracy Cassie Pulley, $18,000 University of Evansville Ryan Rector, $1,000 Peninsula Art Guild and fine arts student of the year Shane Sachwitz, career path certification Imme Schwenteit, foreign exchange -- Germany Joel Sheilds, business education student of the year Michelle Smith, 4.0 Superintendent List, $1,000 Alaska Peace Officers Association, $100 National Ocean Science Bowl, valedictorian and UAA Scholars Program Madena Spencer, $1,000 Kenai Eagles No. 3525 Women's Auxiliary, $50 Vicki Webb Nelson Memorial Laura Tarbox, 4.0 Superintendent List and $50 Alaska Masonic Lodge Outstanding Student, Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award $31,768 for four years at Cornell University, valedictorian, $1,000 Soldotna Chamber, English student of the year, social studies student of the year and UAA Scholars Program Bethany Thornton, $500 American Legion Women's Auxiliary, $500 Peninsula Grace Brethren Church, $100 Phi Delta Kappa, $100 Soldotna Elks and drama student of the year Jessica Truesdell, career path certification and Wendy's High School Heisman Rebecca Yamoah, foreign exchange -- West Africa and Roland Zumwalt, U.S. Air Force Math/Science Award.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us