Willis hits eight wins

Posted: Tuesday, May 24, 2005

MIAMI Dontrelle Willis became the first eight-game winner in the National League, and Carlos Delgado and Miguel Cabrera hit consecutive homers Monday night to carry the Florida Marlins to their season-high fifth straight victory with a 5-2 win over the Philadelphia Phillies.

Willis (8-1) allowed two runs and seven hits in eight innings, bouncing back from his only loss of the year. The left-hander won his first seven starts before getting roughed up in a 14-5 loss to the Dodgers last Tuesday.

Braves 8, Mets 6

ATLANTA Marcus Giles hit a three-run homer, Rafael Furcal had a bases-loaded triple and Atlanta caught a big break in the eighth inning of a victory over New York.

Bouncing back from a dismal road trip, the Braves kept their lead when David Wright was called out for sliding too far out of the baseline while trying to break up a double play.

Cardinals 4, Pirates 2

ST. LOUIS Chris Carpenter allowed four hits in seven innings, and Albert Pujols' two-run double in the sixth helped St. Louis beat Pittsburgh for the 10th straight time.

Manager Tony La Russa earned his 822nd win in his 10th season with the Cardinals, tying him with Whitey Herzog for second on the franchise list. La Russa reached the milestone in 1,501 games, 49 fewer than Herzog.

Cubs 4, Astros 1

CHICAGO Corey Patterson and Jeromy Burnitz homered to back a strong outing by Glendon Rusch, and Chicago beat struggling Houston.

The Astros' sixth straight loss dropped their road record to 2-20, worst in the major leagues. They'll send Roger Clemens to the mound Tuesday night in hopes of stopping their losing streak.

Reds 5, Nationals 3

CINCINNATI Slumping Jason LaRue had three hits off Esteban Loaiza, including a solo homer, and Cincinnati recovered from the shock of losing closer Danny Graves by beating Washington.

A few hours before the game, the Reds designated their career saves leader for assignment, abruptly ending his eight-year stay in Cincinnati. Dumbfounded players sat by their lockers and stared at the floor.

Brewers 2, Rockies 1

MILWAUKEE Chris Capuano allowed three hits in 8 1-3 innings, matching his longest career outing, and Milwaukee sent Colorado to its 27th loss in 31 road games dating to last season.

Capuano (4-3) allowed just one unearned run when he balked home a runner and was lifted after hitting Matt Holliday with a pitch. Ricky Bottalico got two outs for his second save.

AL Capsules

Indians 2, Twins 1

CLEVELAND Victor Martinez's sacrifice fly in the eighth inning off J.C. Romero sent the Indians to a win over the Twins in a peaceful series opener between the bitter AL Central rivals.

There was barely a tight pitch or menacing glare between the clubs, who have been at odds the past few years. Before the four-game series began, Major League Baseball warned the teams to behave, sending a letter to both managers to keep their players in line.

Angels 4, White Sox 0

ANAHEIM, Calif. Ervin Santana threw a five-hit shutout in his second major league start, handing Jon Garland his first loss of the season as Los Angeles defeated Chicago in a matchup of AL division leaders.

Darin Erstad and Orlando Cabrera each had three hits for the Angels, who have won six of eight. Adam Kennedy hit a two-run double in the second inning and Bengie Molina had a solo homer and an RBI single.

Santana (1-1) struck out seven and walked one. The right-hander gave up eight hits in a 13-5 loss at Cleveland on May 17, allowing the first four batters to hit for the cycle.

But only two White Sox runners reached second base against the 22-year-old Santana, who became the youngest Angels pitcher to throw a shutout since 21-year-old Jim Abbott beat Roger Clemens and the Boston Red Sox 5-0 with a four-hitter on May 17, 1989.

Garland (8-1) gave up three runs and 11 hits in seven innings. The right-hander lost for the first time since Sept. 16 at Minnesota. He was trying to become the first nine-game winner in the majors.

Garland won his previous 10 starts, the longest streak by a White Sox pitcher since LaMarr Hoyt won 11 straight from Aug. 22, 1983, to April 10, 1984.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us