Candidate List

Posted: Sunday, June 02, 2002

As of 6:30 p.m. Saturday, the following people had filed for national and state offices. Candidates marked with an asterisk beside their name had filed, but had not yet been certified by the Division of Elections by the Clarion's deadline.

United States Senator

Mike Aubrey, of Sutton, Republican

*Jim Dore, Anchorage, Alaskan Independence

Thomas M. Higgins, Anchorage, Green

Leonard J. "Len" Karpinski, Anchorage, Libertarian

*Theresa Nangle Obermeyer, Anchorage, Democrat

*Sen. Ted Stevens, Girdwood, Republican (incumbent)

Frank J. Vondersaar, Homer, Democrat

*James L. Sykes, Green

United States Representative

Rob Clift, Anchorage, Libertarian

Russell F. DeForest, Fairbanks, Green

Clifford Mark Greene, Juneau, Democrat

Don E. Young, Fort Yukon, Republican (incumbent)


Nels Anderson Jr., Dillingham, Alaskan Independence

Michael J. Beasley, of Fairbanks, Democrat

John Wayne Glotfelty, of North Pole, Alaskan Independence

*Harold A. Haldane, Fairbanks, Alaskan Independence

Erica L. Jacobsson, of Anchorage, Green

Bruce J. Lemke, of Anchorage, Democrat

Dawn M. Mendias, Chugiak, Republican Moderate

Wayne A. Ross, of Anchorage, Republican

Brad Snowden, of Seward, Republican

Billy Toien, of Anchorage, Libertarian

Lt. Gov. Fran Ulmer, Juneau, a Democrat

Don Wright, of Fairbanks, Alaskan Independence

*Eric Weiler, Republican

*Frank Murkowski, of Fairbanks, Republican

Lt. Governor

Al A. Anders, Anchorage, Libertarian

Diane E. Benson, Eagle River, Green

Ernest E. Hall, Anchorage, Democrat

Scott Heyworth, Anchorage, Democrat

Loren D. Leman, Anchorage, Republican

Daniel DeNardo, Anchorage, Alaska Independence

Sarah Palin, Wasilla, Republican

Gail Phillips, Homer, Republican

Robin L. Taylor, Wrangell, Republican

* Paul Weiler, Republican

House District 33

David Richards, Soldotna, Republican

* Mel Krogseng, Soldotna, Republican

Harold "Hal" Smalley, Kenai, Democrat

House District 34

Charles "Mike" Chenault, Nikiski, Republican (incumbent)

House District 35

Drew Scalzi, Homer, Republican (incumbent)

* Paul Seaton, Republican

* Peter Roberts, Republican

House District 36

Gary Stevens, Kodiak, Republican (incumbent)

Senate Seat Q

Joe Arness, Kenai, Republican

* Thomas Stroman, Green

Raymond Vinzant, Sr., Soldotna, Republican

Patrick Hawkins, Soldotna, Democrat

*Jerry Ward, Nikiski, Republican (incumbent)

* Thomas Wagoner, Kenai, Republican Moderate

Senate Seat R

Alan Austerman, Kodiak, Republican (incumbent)

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us