3 Nikiski students share high honors

Nikiski grads even get advice from Stevens

Posted: Monday, June 04, 2001

Bulldogs are tenacious; that theme was central to the speeches delivered at Nikiski Middle Senior High School's graduation exercises May 21.

U.S. Sen. Ted Stevens was the most famous speaker offering the graduates advice. He was introduced by his granddaughter, Laura-Beth Covich, who was among Nikiski's Class of 2001. She said she was proud and found it "way cool" to be introducing her grandfather at her graduation.

"Having confidence and self-esteem is what separates those who do well and those who don't," Stevens said.

Quincy Bird, student body president, initiated the evening with advice from his mother, "Please the Lord and you will be doing the right thing."

Principal Robin Williams said she was proud and sad at the parting of the Class of 2001.

"Not counting the University of Alaska President's Awards, this class was awarded $97,000 in scholarships."

Reading a poem, Williams quoted advice: "Be yourself, don't compare yourself to others. There will always be somebody better or worse. Keep peace in your soul, be cheerful, strive to be happy."

Nikiski Middle Senior High School's

Class of 2001

Robert Louis Anderson

Travis Scott Anderson, valedictorian

Jessica J. Arness, valedictorian

Laura Christine Berdahl

Robert Quincy Bird

Jeffrey Lee Bitterich

Michelle K. Brenegan

Nancy Nichole Collier

Laura-Beth Harper Covich

Dallas A. Cox

Mikel Adrian Cox

Gabrielle Theresa Damro

David Lee Deshong

Carisa Dawn Doty

Adrienne Theresa Duttle

Amanda Rose Elkins

Kayla Meesun Feltman

Sarah Elizabeth Fletcher

Daniel Ray Gerhauser

Ashlee Kate Gillaspie

Jessica Rae Gonzales

Mary Elizabeth Hall

Misti Leigh Hemphill

Inger Teresa Hulien, salutatorian

Andrea Lynn Jeffreys

Carrie Marie Kegler

William McCawley Kensinger

Bryan Jerome Ledahl

Alice Lynn Lee

Derek Eugene Leichliter

Bertram Neil Lundy

Cara Faith Mazurek

Brian Russell McCoy

Joshua S. Meeks

Tosha Nicole Melvin

Tobias Meyer

Krystle Dyana Michaels

Kimberly June Miller

Conni Muller

Lake R. Nash

Lester Gregory Nelson

Tela R. O'Donnell

Lacy Marie Oliva

Ella Dalene Olsen

Chelsea Rae Phegley

Alexis Corrine Pilatti

Christopher Gene Roofe

Myrna Elaine Rooker

Steven Jacob Dun Sanders

Dirce Magali Sarquis

Adam F. Segura

Hillary Ann Smith

Alonda Marie Spracher

Salley Marie Kay Stephens

Seth Arthur Ernst Tauriainen, valedictorian

Claudius Alfred Weykonath

Richelle Ann Wilson

Katerina Xenikakis

Jonathan Harding Zundel

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us