Sports Briefs

Posted: Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Free registration now under way for annual Homer News Spit Run

More than 200 runners and walkers from Alaska and the Lower 48 are expected for the annual annual Homer News Spit Run, which takes place June 24.

The roughly six-mile course runs from the Homer High School parking lot to the end of the Homer Spit near Land’s End Resort. The walk/run is for racers of all abilities and ages.

The event begins at 10 a.m.; official timing continues until noon. Race registration is free through 5 p.m. on June 20 and will cost $5 after that. For participants 12 and under, there is no fee to register.

Registration forms are available online at and at the Homer News at 3482 Landings St. in Homer.

Race check-in is from 8:30 to 10 a.m. at the high school. A free shuttle will be offered until noon for runners who need to return to the school to pick up their cars.

Spit Run T-shirts are available now at the Homer News and will be available on race day at the high school before the race and at the finish line. Cost is $20 for short-sleeved shirts and $25 for long-sleeved shirts.

Too Fat To Fly will provide music after the race on the Land’s End deck, and there will be food for sale. Prizes will be awarded on the deck about 1 p.m.

The race will be followed by the 10th annual Homer Yacht Club Land’s End Regatta. Those wanting to crew during the regatta can contact the owners of participating boats before the race or be at P float in the Homer Harbor shortly before 11 a.m. on June 24. Those wanting to crew on the sailboats should dress appropriately.

For more information about the Homer News Spit Run, call 235-7767. For more information about the regatta, call 235-8503.

South Central honors announced

The all-conference baseball teams for the South Central Conference have been announced:

First team — Mark Putney, P/SS, Kodiak; Justin Simpson, C, Kodiak; Jake Simpson, P/1B/OF, Kodiak; Luke Gilbert, P/SS, Homer; Adam Trieweiler, P/SS, Homer; Ryan Pauling, P/1B/SS, Colony; Wes Smith, C/CF, Colony; Matt Craig, P/SS, Valdez; Tanner Grover, C, Palmer; Corey Cowgill, Wasilla.

Second team — Dylan Langfitt, 2B, Kodiak; Paul McFarland, 3B/P, Kodiak; Johnny Watry, C/P, Homer; Robert Fitch, CF/C, Colony; Jamie Goudreau, 3B/LF/P, Valdez; Casey Liljedaul, 3B/LF/P, Valdez; Mike Dotson, 3B/DH, Palmer; Isaiah Carlson, Kenny Lake; Codie Farrington, Kenny Lake.

Honorable mention — Justin Adams, CF, Homer; Robert Tingstrom, Wasilla; Isaac Swiderski, SS/C, Seward; Jason Long, LF, Seward.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us