Beavers, Bears return to CWS

Posted: Tuesday, June 14, 2005

The College World Series is practically an annual destination for Texas and Arizona State. For most of the other six teams in college baseball's championship round, Omaha is largely unfamiliar territory.

Oregon State, the No. 8 national seed, is making its second trip to the round of eight — and first since 1952. The Beavers (46-10), 0-2 all-time in College World Series games, will take on top-seeded Tulane (55-10) on Saturday.

The Green Wave have also been to the series just once before, in 2001, when they went 1-2.

Baylor (44-22), the No. 4 seed, is headed to the round of eight for the first time since 1978. The Bears also made the trip in 1977, but are 0-4 in College World Series play. They'll try to get their first win Saturday when they take on frequent Omaha visitor and fellow Big 12 school, Texas.

The Longhorns (51-16) are making their record 32nd College World Series appearance, fifth in six years and fourth in a row.

They have 73 wins in the CWS, one off Southern California's record. Texas, the No. 5 seed, is the only school returning to Omaha from last year's field.

Tennessee, which upset No. 2 seed Georgia Tech in the super regionals, will take on Florida in the CWS opener on Friday. The Volunteers (46-19) are making just their fourth appearance, and first since 2001.

The Gators (45-20), the No. 7 seed, are in Omaha for the fifth time overall, but first since 1998.

Local favorite Nebraska (56-13) is making its third trip overall — all in the past five years — but first since 2002. The Cornhuskers, the No. 3 seed, will take Arizona State (39-23) on Friday.

The Sun Devils upset defending national champion Cal State Fullerton in the super regionals to assume the No. 6 seed. Arizona State is making its 19th appearance, tied for fourth-most with Oklahoma State, and first since losing to USC in the championship game in 1998.

The winners of each bracket — Tulane, Oregon State, Texas and Baylor; and Tennessee, Florida, Arizona State and Nebraska — will play in a best-of-three championship series beginning June 25.

This year's College Word Series is the first since 1996, and only ninth overall, that a school from California was not among the final eight teams.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us