Sealaska elects officers

Posted: Monday, June 19, 2000

SEATTLE (AP) -- State Rep. Albert Kookesh was re-elected to the Sealaska board of directors Sunday and then chosen board chairman at the Native corporation's annual meeting in Seattle.

Shareholders also re-elected Marjorie Young of Craig, Daniel Leston of Federal Way, Wash., Ethel Lund of Juneau, and Richard Stitt of Juneau to the board.

Kookesh, D-Angoon, replaces Young as chairman. Young said more than 78 percent of shareholders voted in person or by proxy.

Board members re-elected Rosita Worl of Juneau as vice chairwoman.

Sealaska President and CEO Robert Loescher concluded his business report by announcing an initiative in the coming 18 months to include Sealaska shareholder descendants in the corporation.

''I call upon the shareholders to join the Sealaska management and board of directors and find a way to include our children and grandchildren and shareholder descendants in Sealaska,'' he said, while symbolically wrapping a young Native person who is not a shareholder in a special commemorative Sealaska blanket.

Sealaska reported earnings of $17 million for 1999 before revenue sharing with other Native regional corporations. Sealaska reported net earnings of $10 million.

The corporation made dividend and distribution payments totaling $9.4 million to 16,000 shareholders.

Loescher was re-elected president and chief executive officer. Other officers elected include Joseph Devine, chief operating officer; William Strafford, chief financial officer; Chris E. McNeil, Jr., executive vice president and general counsel; and Jim Edenso, executive vice president.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us