Alaska educators win Milken Awards

Posted: Wednesday, June 27, 2001

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- Three Alaska educators have received $25,000 awards from the Milken Family Foundation.

Amy Kenaston, a teacher at Nordale Elementary in Fairbanks; Douglas Penn, a teacher at Whittier Community School in Whittier; and LeBron McPhail, the principal at Butte Elementary School in Palmer, were presented the awards Tuesday night in Los Angeles.

The awards were first announced last fall.

The Milken awards were established in 1985 to recognize exceptional educators across the country.

This year, 155 educators from 43 states were recognized.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us