Community News

Posted: Monday, July 02, 2001

Area students receive honors

Carly Bossert of Kasilof has been named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Bossert is the daughter of Cheryl Bossert and a 1999 graduate of Kenai Central High School.

Full-time students who rank in the top 10 percent of the student body are named to the dean's list.

Joel Reemtsma was named to the dean's list for the 2001 winter quarter at Cedarville University in Cedarville, Ohio.

He is the son of Phil and Eileen Reemtsma of Kenai.

JoLynn Montgomery recently was inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi honor society at Boise State University in Boise, Idaho. She is a junior at the university.

She is a 1999 Kenai Central High School. She is the daughter of James and Nancy Montgomery.

Jessica Fredrickson of Seward was named to the spring semester 2001 dean's list at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minn.

Amanda F. Reynoldson of Kenai was named to the dean's list at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Laura M. Walters of Kenai was named to the chancellor's list at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Melinda S. Lyons of Sterling was named to the chancellor's list at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Larissa K. Renney of Sterling was named to the chancellor's list at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Jeff Miller of Nikiski was named to dean's list for the spring semester at Northwest Nazarene University.

Students graduate from colleges

Oralee Nudson graduated from Boise State University with a bachelor's degree in psychology and a computer science minor with cum laude honors. She was a member of the Golden Key and Psi Chi national honor societies.


Oralee Nudson

She is a 1997 graduate of Nikiski High School. She is the daughter of Larry and Annette Nudson of Nikiski.

Elizabeth Beiswenger graduated from Vassar College in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., with a bachelor's degrees in political science and Russian studies.

She is the daughter of Allan and Susan Beiswenger of Soldotna.

Nikiski woman joins Army

Angelina R. Grimaldi enlisted in the U.S. Army. She recently left for basic training at Fort Jackson, S.C.

She is the daughter of Louis R. and Katerina D. Grimaldi of Nikiski.

Organizations honor students

Julianne Awery was selected to receive a college scholarship from the Unocal Foundation. Unocal's scholarship awards entitle each winner to receive between $500 and $3,000 annually, based on need, for up to four years of college.

She is a 2001 graduate from Kenai Central High School and plans to attend the University of California, Davis. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Doug Herford.

Micah Mohler has been awarded a $500 renewable scholarship by the Kenai Peninsula Chapter of the Safari Club Internation-al. Micah is a 2001 graduate of Skyview High School.

Rachel Jones of Soldotna was awarded a special scholarship from the Kenai Peninsula Chapter of the Safari Club International to help her degree in Fisheries and Wildlife Management. She is a senior at the University of Nebraska.

Scouts go to national jamboree


Jon Buchholz

Jon Buchholz and Stephen Noble from Boy Scout Troop 672 in Soldotna were selected for the Western Alaska Council National Jamboree contingent that will be going to the Boy Scouts National Jamboree at Fort A.P. Hill, Va. Seventy-two scouts and their adult leaders will leave Anchorage July 23 and tour historic sites. They also will travel to Washington, D.C., and the Capitol to meet Alaska Sen. Ted Stevens.

Following the White House tour, they will go to the King's Dominion, a large water park on the East Coast.


Stephen Noble

The jamboree will be held from July 23 to Aug. 1. The theme of the event is Strong Values, Strong Leaders, Character Counts. Daily activities will include archery, orienteering, running obstacle courses, a confidence course, conservation programs, scuba, kayak fun and raft encounters.

The 2001 jamboree is the 15th to be held since the first jamboree was held in 1937 at the base of the Washington Monument.

Quilt winners named

The following individuals placed in the Quilting on the Kenai 2001 event. They are:


First place -- Lily Huebsch, also best of show

Second place -- Vicki Steik

Third place -- Becky Buchanan

Wall hangings

First place -- Elizabeth Stevens

Second place --Jannette Pietro

Third place -- Betsy Cooper

First place -- Kathy Sexton

Second place -- Sue Bacon

Third place -- Shawn Caligan


First place -- Karen Ballard

Second place -- Jerie Best

First place -- Diane Buchanan

Second place -- Maria Howarth

Third place -- Brenda Clyde

First place -- Janet Essex

Second place -- Carole B. Wulf

Third place -- Joan Hart

Youth under 16

First place --Darlene Bunts


First place -- Carla Anderson

Second place -- Sheri Jackson

Third place -- Lynn Casperson

First place -- Joan Miller

Second place -- Kathy Shipe

Third place -- Marilyn K. Johnson

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us