Kemppel, Precosky repeat Mount Marathon wins

Posted: Thursday, July 05, 2001

SEWARD (AP) -- Three-time Olympian Nina Kemppel won her seventh Mount Marathon race on Wednesday, setting the record for most wins by a woman.

Her sixth straight title also tied the record for consecutive wins held by Sven Johansson from 1954-59.

The annual Fourth of July race sends competitors up and down the 3,022 mountain and is the centerpiece of Seward's holiday celebration.

Kemppel, 30, an Olympic cross-country skier from Anchorage, finished in 56 minutes, 59 seconds. That was 39 seconds ahead of Kikkan Randall, 18, who hopes to earn a spot alongside Kemppel skiing for the United States.

In the men's race, Brad Precosky of Anchorage became the eighth man to win three consecutive Mount Marathon titles.

The 34-year-old runner finished in 45 minutes, 7 seconds. Eric Strabel, 19, a University of Alaska Anchorage student, finished second.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us