Precosky, Kemppel repeat winners in Mount Marathon race

Posted: Friday, July 05, 2002

SEWARD (AP) -- The 75th running of Mount Marathon finished Thursday in much the same way it has for the past few years.

Brad Precosky, 35, of Anchorage, won the men's race, finishing with a time of 46 minutes, 17 seconds. Precosky became only the third man to win at least four straight titles in the historic 3 1/2-mile trek from downtown Seward to the top of 3,022-foot Mount Marathon and back.

In the women's race, Nina Kemppel cruised to her seventh straight Mount Marathon victory and her eighth overall, finishing with a time of 55 minutes, 4 seconds. In the 75-year history of Mount Marathon, no one has ever won seven in a row -- Sven Johanson won six straight in the 1950s -- and only one other runner has won eight overall -- Bill Spencer, whose victories span from 1974 to 1991.

In the junior division, Rory Egelus, 15, of Palmer was first among boys with a time of 28:13. Leah Besh, 16, of Anchorage won the girls junior division with a time of 35:22. Junior division racers run halfway up the mountain and back.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us