Candidates: Ready, set, file

Posted: Monday, July 10, 2006

Candidates hoping to win seats in the Oct. 3 municipal election can start running in earnest.

Declaration of candidacy packets are now available at the Kenai Peninsula Borough Clerk’s Office in Soldotna, and may be obtained by fax. Packets are also available at borough satellite offices in Seward and Homer.

The official filing period runs from Aug. 1 through Aug. 15 at 4:30 p.m.

Three seats are up for grabs on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly, all of them three-year terms. They are: District 1 (Kalifornsky) currently held by Dan Chay, of Kenai; District 6 (East Peninsula), held by Assembly President Ron Long, of Seward; and District 9, (South Peninsula), held by Milli Martin, of Diamond Ridge.

Chay, who was elected in 2003, said Thursday he was not ready to say whether he would seek another term. Long, now completing his second term, said he would “more than likely” run again, while Martin said, “It is my intention” to seek re-election. Martin was elected in 2000, 2002 and 2003.

Assembly member Pete Sprague, of Soldotna, is a Democratic Party candidate for House District 33. If he succeeds, his seat would have to be filled by assembly appointment following the general election in November and his resignation. If not, he would retain his assembly seat through the current term, which expires in 2007.

Three seats on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Board of Education will also be on the fall ballot. They include: District 2 (Kenai) held by Bill Hatch, of Kenai; District 5 (Sterling), held by Marty Anderson, of Sterling; and District 8 (Homer), held by Liz Downing, of Homer. Each is a three-year term.

Voters also will fill several seats of various lengths on borough service area boards.

· Anchor Point Fire Service Area Board: Seats C and D (three-year terms), and Seat E (two-year term).

· Bear Creek Fire Service Area Board: Seats C and D (three-year terms).

· Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area Board: Seat A (one-year term), and Seats D and E (three-year terms).

· Joint Operations Board for Central Emergency Medical Service Area and the Central Emergency Service Area: Seats C and D (three-year terms).

· Kachemak Emergency Service Area Board: Seats A and D (three-year terms).

· Lowell Point Emergency Service Area Board: Seats A and D (three-year terms),

· Nikiski Fire Service Area Board: Seats F and G (three-year terms).

· Nikiski Senior Service Area Board: Seat A (three-year term).

· North Peninsula Recreation Service Area Board: Seats C and D (three-year terms).

· Seward-Bear Creek Flood Service Area Board: Seats B and E (three-year terms), and Seat C (one-year term).

· South Peninsula Hospital Service Area Board: Seats A, B and C (three-year terms)

Candidates must be qualified voters who have lived in the assembly or school district for 180 days to be eligible for the ballot. Those residing in a service area for 180 days are eligible to run for service area boards.

According to the borough clerk’s office, each candidate for an assembly and school board seat must file a Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement and a U.S. Immigration I-9 form with the clerk’s office. Service area board candidates are not required to file those documents. However, all candidates for public office must file campaign disclosure statements with the Alaska Public Offices Commission. Those forms will be provided by the clerk’s office.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us