Efforts come together for annual Kenai parade

Posted: Tuesday, July 18, 2006

Everyone loves a parade, and we must admit Kenai has the best parade! A parade and all the festivities for the Fourth of July takes the whole community pulling together to make it “the best.”

We want to thank the Kenai Police Department and Young Explorers who coordinate the barricades, blocking the streets, directing traffic and cajoling the volunteers; Kenai Parks and Rec Department, for the porta-potties, Larry Hull for keeping them tidy and toting off trash; Penny Furnish, our chair and coordinator of the vendor booths, who was there from sun-up to sunset; Amanda Feagin for arranging entertainment and decorating the stage; parade officials — Neal Duperon, Robert Peterkin, Jason Hernedon, Dick Odgers and the CAP Cadets; volunteers Natalia Johnson, Anita and Mark Necessary, Mormon Elders, Aaron and Jeannine Morse and Dell Feagin; our dignitaries, Jim and Nedra Evenson, and grand marshals, Emily DeForest the 2005 Queen of Kenai, Sue Carter the 2004 Queen of Kenai, Mayor Pat Porter, borough Mayor John Williams, Soldotna Mayor Dave Carey, Rep. Mike Chenault and Rep. Kurt Olson and the official cars — Dr. Hansen, Dave Hutchings and Hutchings Chevrolet, Dr. Dennis and Phyllis Swarner; Herb Stettler, Bob Peterson and the American Legion for decorating the judges stand, provided by Lynden Transport.

The entertainment stand was provided by ATIGUN and Lynden; the stage was erected and dismantled by the Unocal Retirees (known as the Dream Team — Joe Harris, Glenn Clifford, Leroy Heinrich, George Ford, Cliff Huese, Harold Flood, Carl Beamer, Don Driskill, Les Strictler, Mike Nugent and Leon Quesnell) led by Sal Mattero.

Thanks to Todd Jackson for beautifully singing the national anthem; Bill Bartlett for coordinating the flag ceremony; First National Bank for our judges — Julie Wheeler, Lori Peikert, Donna Tuttle, Janet Palmer and Dorothy Lentz; Kevin Krause and Sharlena Fox for proudly carrying the chamber banner; Airgas for helium; Rick Cupp and the Kenai Fellowship for cleaning the parade route (Neil Burger, Allen and Jan Houtz, Jason Winans, Julianne Pettey, Glenese Pettey, Nathan Grilley, Carol and Katarina Sinenko, Karen and Brittany Cupp); AIH for donating bags; Waste Management for the Dumpsters; our entertainers — Kenai Montessori School, Bob Peterson, Dave Edwards-Smith, Senior Line Dancers, Peninsula Artists in Motion, Couzins and the infamous bagpipers Taylor Karnikis, Tony Barrett and Steve.

Also we wish to thank our parade entrants, vendors and everyone else who came to the parade as this is a wonderful community celebration and we are proud to organize it.

Janie Odgers

Executive director

Kenai Chamber of Commerce

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us