Walker Cup tied

Posted: Friday, July 25, 2008

The fourth annual Walker Cup, a competition pitting the Kenai Golf Association against the Birch Ridge Golf Association, is tied 3-3 after 18 holes of play on Thursday night at the Kenai Golf Course.

In an alternate-shot format, Kenai's team of Todd Eskelin and Gordon Griffin defeated Birch Ridge's Gary Stackhouse and Jim McWilliams.

The Birch Ridge team of Nolan Rose and George Stein knocked off Kenai's John Dahlgren and Mike Navarre.

Also from Birch Ridge, Taylor Jackson and Darell Jelsma beat the Kenai squad of Doug Jung and Ken Liedes for a 2-1 edge.

Kenai, though, knotted the score at two when Rene Alvarez and Noel Widmeyer topped Aaron Andress and Steve Dexheimer.

Birch Ridge then grabbed a 3-2 lead on a win by Jay Kriner and Mike Hollingsworth, who edged out Kenai's Bob and Caleb Sizemore.

And in the final pairing, Kenai's Jerry Norris and Rich Edwards forced the tie as they beat out Birch Ridge's Marty Arnoldy and Jeff Hetrick.

Entering the fourth year of competition, the two golf associations are even at 1 1/2 crowns apiece.

Tying in its inaugural year, Birch Ridge captured the championship in 2006 and Kenai avenged that loss with a title in 2007.

Play resumes at 5 p.m. today in Kenai before the final round commences at 2 p.m. on Sunday.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us