Current weather

  • Scattered clouds
  • 54°
    Scattered clouds

Progress Days fun spotlights Soldotna

Posted: Friday, July 27, 2001

There's something fishy happening in Soldotna this weekend: the 41st annual Progress Days celebration.

The theme, appropriately, is "2001: A Fish Odyssey." Soldotna and fish go together as well as a soup and sandwich. The community's heart beat is the Kenai River.

Soldotna, however, is much more than fish. It's a great place to live and work. With its small-town charm and big-city amenities, it offers the best of rural and urban Alaska.

And Progress Days offers the perfect opportunity for longtime residents to renew friendships and new residents and visitors to get to know the community better. Included in today's newspaper is a special section on Progress Days, which will give readers a flavor of the weekend's events.

Soldotna has come a long way. One of the places that's most evident is city government. Peninsula Clarion reporters Jay Barrett and Shana Loshbaugh have compiled the following directory of "Who to Call at Soldotna City Hall." We hope residents and visitors will find it useful.

Meanwhile, we hope everyone will put down their fishing poles and dipnets long enough to sample some of Soldotna's other charms this weekend.

Who to call at Soldotna City Hall:

The Soldotna City Council meets the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at 7:30 p.m. Here's how to reach the folks who keep Soldotna ticking:

Elected officials

Mayor David Carey (term expires 2002)

Phone: 262-7675 (work, school year only), 260-6413 (home)

Fax: 262-4934; e-mail: dcarey@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Mailing address: 119 Shady Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669

City Council Members

Jim Stogsdill (Vice mayor) (term expires 2003)

Phone: 262-5622; e-mail: stogsdill@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Mailing address: 265 Arlington Court, Soldotna, AK 99669

Steve Horn (term expires 2001)

Phone: 262-1831; e-mail: horn@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Mailing address: 292 Arlington Court, Soldotna, AK 99669

Jane Stein (term expires 2001)

Phone: 262-2659; e-mail: jstein@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Mailing address: P.O. Box 2931, Soldotna, AK 99669

Joyce Cox (term expires 2002)

Phone: 262-5996; e-mail: jcox@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Mailing address: 279 W. Corral, Soldotna, AK 99669

Kurt Olson (term expires 2002)

Phone: 260-4822; e-mail: kolson@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Mailing address: 317 Diane Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669

Mike Tarr (term expires 2001)

Phone: 262-8769; e-mail: mike.tarr@acsalaska.net

Mailing address: 255 W. Redoubt, Soldotna, AK 99669

City Hall

Phone: 262-9107; fax: 262-1245

Web site: www.ci.soldotna.ak.us

Office hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday except holidays.

Address: 177 N. Birch St.

City manager: Tom Boedeker

E-mail: boedeker@ci.soldotna.ak.us

City clerk: Patricia Burdick

E-mail: pburdick@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Finance officer: Joel Wilkins

E-mail: jwilkins@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Public works: Steve Bonebrake

E-mail: bonebrake@ci.soldotna.ak.us

For questions about building permits or utility bills, ask for Sandy Kass. For questions about planning and zoning permits, ask for Anna Johnson. For questions about building codes, ask for Dick Bower; e-mail, dbower@ci.soldotna.ak.us.

Other City Departments

Soldotna Police Department

Police Chief: Shirley Warner

Phone: 262-4455*; fax: 262-4421

E-mail: chief@ci.soldotna.ak.us

* For fire or other emergencies, call 911

Address: 238 Wilson Lane

Web page: http://members.tripod.com/~garjrs/spd.html

Soldotna Public Library

Head Librarian: Dorothy Bishop

E-mail: sldlib5@ptialaska.net

Phone: 262-4227; fax: 262-6856

Hours: 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Thursday; noon to 6 p.m. Friday; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday; closed on Sunday

Address: 235 N. Binkley St.

Animal Shelter

Animal control officer: Marianne Clark

Phone: 262-3969

E-mail: soldotna.utility@gci.net

Address: 205 S. Kobuk St.

Parks and Recreation

Director: Andrew Carmichael

Phone: 262-3150 (recording); 262-3151 (administration)

Fax: 262-3152

E-mail: acsports@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Soldotna Sports Center hours: Noon to 8 p.m. Monday through Friday, except holidays, until the ice is installed on Aug. 2; 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. during the ice season, plus prearranged ice times.

Address: 538 Arena Ave.

For questions about camping and parks, call the sports center. For campground information for Centennial and Swiftwater parks, call 262-5299. To reserve the picnic pavilion at Soldotna Creek Park, call 262-6249.

Maintenance Shop

Maintenance department manager: Cathy Ottinger

Phone: 262-4672; fax: 262-2523

E-mail: cathyottinger@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Office hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday except holidays

For questions about street maintenance or the Soldotna airport, call the shop on Funny River Road.

Wastewater Treatment Plant

Utility department manager: Rick Wood

Phone: 262-4205; fax: 260-2630

E-mail: rick_wood@ci.soldotna.ak.us

Office hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday except holidays

Address: 215 S. Kobuk St.

Call the plant about water or sewer problems.



CONTACT US

  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING

MORRIS ALASKA NEWS