Subsistence Summit Panel: At A Glance

Posted: Thursday, August 02, 2001

Here's a list of the panelists who will serve on Gov. Tony Knowles Subsistence Leadership Summit when it meets in Anchorage on Aug. 15-16. Retired Superior Court Judge Tom Stewart will chair the meeting. Brian Rogers, a consultant from Fairbanks, will moderate.

The Rev. Chuck Eddy, chairman of the Governor's Tolerance Commission.

Mano Frey, president AFL/CIO.

Sammy Crawford, Kenai board member of League of Women Voters.

Steve Haycox, board chair of the Alaska Humanities Forum and history professor from the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Marlene Johnson, member of University of Alaska Board of Regents.

Eric Britten, chair-elect of Anchorage Chamber of Commerce.

Rob Shoaf, president of the Alaska Chamber of Commerce and Alyeska Pipeline executive.

Bob Stiles, chairman of the Resource Development Council.

Mike Irwin, chairman of the board of Doyon Corporation and former Commissoner of Community and Regional Affairs.

Janie Leask, former Alaska Federation of Natives president and board member of Commonwealth North.

Bob Penney, sport fishing enthusiast and Anchorage businessman.

David Bedford, chairman of the United Fishermen of Alaska subsistence committee and Juneau fisherman.

Bob Thorstenson, United Fishermen of Alaska president and commercial fisherman from Petersburg.

Robin Samuelsen, commercial and subsistence fisherman from Dillingham.

Terry Gardiner, former House speaker and Ketchikan fisheries processor.

Kay Brown, environmental activist and former Anchorage legislator.

Dick Bishop, Alaska Outdoor Council officer of Fairbanks.

Rob Holt, vice president of the Alaska Professional Hunters Association of Talkeetna.

Carl Marrs, Cook Inlet Region Inc. president.

Joe Williams, president of Saxman IRA.

Byron Mallott, of the First Alaskans Foundation and former Permanent Fund executive director.

Loretta Bullard, president of the regional non-profit Kawerak, Inc., of Nome.

Julie Kitka, president of the Alaska Federation of Natives.

Al Adams, former state senator from Kotzebue.

Arliss Sturgulewski, former state senator and Anchorage businesswoman.

Esther Wunnicke, board member of Common Ground and former state Natural Resources Commissioner.

-- Charlie Cole, former state attorney general from Fairbanks.

Avrum Gross, former state attorney general from Juneau.

Francis Hurley, former retired archbishop from Anchorage.

Ron Somerville, member of Territorial Sportsmen board from Juneau.

John Staser, owner of Mountain View Sports.

Jim LaBelle, member of Bridge Builders from Anchorage.

David Wight, chief executive officer of Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.

Bob Malone, of BP AMoco.

Ethan Berkowitz, House minority leader.

Those invited to participate in the meeting.

Senate President Rick Halford.

House Speaker Brian Porter.

Senate Minority Leader Johnny Ellis.

Mike Williams, Akiak, head of Alaska Intertribal Council from Akiak.

The Rev. Michael Oleksa, Russian Orthodox priest from Koliganek.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us