Brickyard 400

Posted: Friday, August 04, 2000

Where: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Speedway, Ind.)

When: 1 p.m. Saturday

Broadcast: Television ABC; Radio Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network

Track: 212-mile oval

1999 winner: Dale Jarrett

What it takes to win: Four slightly banked (914 degrees),

90-degree turns make Indianapolis an exercise of a turn, followed by a drag race to the next turn. For that reason, cars with horsepower seem to have the advantage. Depending on the circumstances in the final 50 miles, the race will be won by either the best drag racer or the best fuel miser.

Morris News Service pick: Dale Jarrett

Other drivers to watch: Bobby Labonte, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt, Jeremy Mayfield, Johnny Benson, Tony Stewart

Don Coble

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us