Peninsula People

Posted: Monday, August 04, 2003

Jayme Rebecca Taylor of Kenai was named to the dean's list for the spring semester at the University of Oregon in Eugene, Ore., where she is a junior anthropology major. To be named to the dean's list, students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.75 on 12 or more graded credits.

Tessa N. Rhyner of Kenai was named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Carroll College in Waukesha, Wis., where she is an elementary education major. To be named to the dean's list, students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5. She is the daughter of Tom and Mary Rhyner of Kenai.

Sarah McAuliffe of Kenai was named to the Laureate Society for the spring semester at Whitworth College in Spokane, Wash. To qualify for the society, students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.75.

Skyview grad earns honors in college

Former Skyview High School distance runner Erika Edwards was named to the Big Sky spring all-academic team at Northern Arizona University, where she is a junior. She also was named to the dean's list for the spring semester and earned membership in Sigma Alpha Lambda National Leadership and Honors Organization. She is attending NAU on a full athletic-academic scholarship and competes on the Division I school's crosscountry running and indoor and outdoor track teams.

Cheerleaders shine in camp competitions

Members of the Soldotna High School Stars varsity and junior varsity cheerleading squads recently attended an National Cheerleading Association cheer camp in Anchorage. All nine members of the varsity team were nominated for the All-American squad, and the varsity team also received a bid to the national competition held in Dallas, a technical excellence award in stunting, the Stunt Smart Award and the Champion Chant Award. The team also was a top team finalist competing against 11 other varsity squads. Squad member Kayla Mullican received the Outstanding Leadership Award, and Sarah Endries made the All-American squad. The junior varsity squad received the Most Improved Award.

Ninilchik student earns scholarship

Aaron Jefferey Berger of Ninilchik recently was awarded a two-year $2,000 President's Scholarship to attend Western Washington University. The scholarship is awarded to students of superior academic achievement. Berger earned a 3.76 grade point average at Ninilchik High School and is interested in studying journalism. He is the son of Jeff and Mary Berger of Ninilchik.

Homer student earns national environmental award

Whitney Cushing of Homer is one of six students nationwide to receive the 2003 Brower Youth Award, the nation's most prestigious recognition of environmental activists ages 13 to 22. The awards are presented by the Earth Island Institute.

The six award winners receive $3,000 in cash awards and will be honored at a public ceremony in Berkeley, Calif., next month. They also will participate in a three-day Wilderness Encounter in Yosemite National Park and will receive ongoing assistance from Earth Island staff, who provide access to resources, mentors, skill-building workshops and leadership development.

Cushing, 16, founded the first environmental youth group on the Kenai Peninsula. The group, based in Homer, created the first recycling program in the region, lobbied to stop offshore oil and gas development and helped impose limits on local chain-store development.

Seward woman completes basic training

Air Force Airman Candice L. Johnson of Seward recently graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. During her six-week training, Johnson studied the Air Force mission, organization and military customs and courtesies, performed drill and ceremony marches and received instruction in physical training, rifle marksmanship, field training exercises and human relations.


Candice L. Johnson

She is the daughter of Nena Butts of Seward and a 2001 graduate of Seward High School.

Area students earn Army scholarships

Several Kenai Peninsula students have received the U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar-Athlete Award, including: Cory L. Janson and Christine Ann Gibbs of Kenai Central High School; Joey Wicker and Rainy Reilly of Nikiski High School; Simeon Kuzin of Nikolaevsk School; Steven Miller and Whitney Leman of Ninilchik High School; Keith Wolfe and Tara DeRuwe of Seward High School; and Christopher Lawrence and Jennifer Carpenter of Skyview High School.

Kenai student awarded scholarship

Clifford Cochran, son of Philip and Connie Cochran of Kenai, recently was awarded the J.F.T. O'Connor Scholarship to attend the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks, N.D., this fall.

The scholarship is awarded to students chosen for high academic ability and leadership in memory of J.F.T. O'Connor, former comptroller of the currency, prominent judge and attorney, who was a Grand Forks native and 1907 UND graduate. He died in 1949.

Cochran is a graduate of Kenai Central High School.

Kasilof woman earns degree


Amy Evenson

Amy Evenson graduated from Southern Oregon University on June 14, 2003, receiving a bachelor of science degree in business administration with a concentration in hotel management. Her minor was communication.

She is employed as a guest services manager and is assisting in the sales department at the Plaza Suites in Ashland, Ore. She is a Skyview High School graduate and daughter of Bob and Kathleen Evenson of Kasilof.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us