Filings open for peninsula elections

Posted: Wednesday, August 06, 2003

Voters going to the polls Oct. 7 will have the chance to return incumbent candidates to familiar roles or put new faces on local legislative bodies.

The fall municipal ballot will include three seats on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly and all nine seats on the newly districted Kenai Peninsula Borough Board of Education.

City council seats in Kenai, Soldotna, Homer, Seward, Sel-dovia and Kachemak City are up for grabs, as well as a couple of mayor positions. Numerous seats also are up on the 10 borough service area boards.

The borough's filing period for the assembly, school board and service area boards opened Friday and continues until 4:30 p.m. Aug. 15.

The open seats on the assembly are District 1 (Kalifornsky), currently held by John Davis of Kenai; District 6 (East Peninsula), currently held by Ron Long of Seward; and District 9 (South Peninsula), currently held by Milli Martin of Diamond Ridge. Each will be a three-year term.

Long, Davis and Martin indicated they plan to seek re-election.

The school board race involves all nine seats because borough residents voted last year to begin selecting members by district this year. The seats will be filled as one-, two- and three-year terms to provide for a rotation in future elections.

The one-year seats will be District 1 (Kalifornsky), District 6 (East Peninsula) and District 9 (South Peninsula).

The two-year seats will include District 3 (Nikiski), District 4 (Soldotna) and District 7 (Central).

Districts 2 (Kenai), 5 (Sterling-Funny River) and 8 (Homer) will comprise the three-year seats.

In the city of Soldotna, a pair of three-year council seats is open, including Seat A, held by Jim Stogsdill, and Seat C, held by Sharon Moock. Candidates have until 5 p.m. Aug. 15 to file.

In Kenai, a single two-year seat and a pair of three-year seats are open. They include the seats held by John "Ozzie" Osborne, Pat Porter and Amy Jackman. Filing deadline is 5 p.m. Aug. 15.

In Homer, the two three-year seats that are open are held by Ray Kranich and Rick Ladd. The filing deadline is at 5 p.m. Aug. 15.

Across the peninsula in Seward, Mayor Stu Clark's two-year seat will be on the ballot, along with those of council members Nathan Orr, Bob Valdatta and Linda Amberg, also holding two-year seats. The deadline for filing is 5 p.m. Aug. 15.

On the south side of Kachemak Bay in Seldovia, Mayor Richard H. Wyland's seat is up (a two-year term), as well as those of council members Dan Hecks and George Oliveira, both three-year terms.

East of Homer in Kachemak City council seats C and E are up, both three-year terms. Edna Morris and Therese Bennett hold them, respectively. The filing period in Kachemak City's municipal election does not open until Aug. 22. Candidates will have until Sept. 17 at 3 p.m. to file.

Here is a quick look at the open seats on various borough service area boards:

n Anchor Point Fire Service Area Board: Seats A and E (two-year terms), and Seats C and D (three-year terms).

n Bear Creek Fire Service Area: Seat A (one year), Seats C and D (three years) and Seat E (two years).

n Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area: Seat A (one year), Seats C and D (three years).

n Joint Operations Board for the Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area and the Central Emergency Service Area: Seats C and D (three years).

n Kachemak Emergency Service Area: Seat A (two years), Seats B and C (three years).

n Nikiski Fire Service Area: Seats F and G (three years).

n Nikiski Senior Service Area: Seat A (three years), Seats D and E (two years).

n North Peninsula Recreation Service Area: Seats C and D (three years).

n South Peninsula Hospital Service Area: Seats A, B and C (three years), Seats G and I (one year).

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us