Election filings coming in slow

Posted: Wednesday, August 13, 2003

So far, at least, the Oct. 7 municipal election isn't drawing much attention.

A slough of borough-elected offices is up for grabs but candidates aren't exactly beating a path to the door of the Kenai Peninsula Borough clerk's office to sign on and run. They have until Friday at 4:30 p.m.

However, a shortage of candidates this early in the filing period is not at all unusual, borough clerk Linda Murphy said Tues-day.

"That's very typical," she said. "We usually get quite a few filings the last day."

Many more filing packets have been handed out to prospective candidates than have been returned, so far, Murphy said.

"I anticipate a flurry of activity later in the week."

As of Tuesday around midday, only two incumbents had filed to run for re-election to the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly, where a trio of three-year seats is up for grabs.

John Davis of Kenai has filed to run for the District 1 seat (Kalifornsky), and Milli Martin of Diamond Ridge has filed to run for the District 9 seat (South Peninsula).

No one had yet filed for the District 6 seat (East Peninsula), though the incumbent, assembly member Ron Long of Seward, has said he intends to seek re-election.

There hasn't been much activity yet in the Kenai Peninsula Borough Board of Education races, either.

All nine school board seats are up this year as a result of a decision by voters last fall to elect members by district, instead of at-large. To provide for staggered elections in the future, three school board seats will be three-year terms, three will be two-year terms and three will be one-year terms.

Two board races appear to be just that races. Each, so far, has drawn two candidates.

Seat 1 (Kalifornsky), a one-year term, has drawn two candidates. Incumbent Lorraine "Sammy" Crawford of Kenai will be challenged by Gene Dyson of Soldotna.

The race for Seat 7 (Central), a two-year term, will pit Debra "Debbie" Holle of Kasilof against Melanie G. Osterman of Kasilof. Neither is an incumbent.

Other seats either have drawn their incumbents or no one at all.

Margaret M. Gilman of Kenai has filed to seek re-election to the board in Seat 2 (Kenai), a three-year term, Debra K. Mullins of Kenai will seek re-election in Seat 3 (Nikiski), a two-year term, and John Nels Anderson of Soldotna has filed for re-election in the race for Seat 4 (Soldotna), a two-year term. None has any challengers.

As of Tuesday midday, no one had filed for Seat 5 (Sterling-Funny River), a three-year term, Seat 6 (East Peninsula), a one-year term, nor Seats 8 (Homer) or 9 (South Peninsula), a three-year and one-year term, respectively.

Service area board races have not attracted many candidates, either.

No one had filed for four open seats on the Anchor Point Fire Service Area Board or the four open seats on the Bear Creek Fire Service Area Board.

Of the three seats open on the Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area Board, only Seat D, a three-year term, has a registered candidate, Neal D. DePerron Jr. of Kenai.

Also open on the hospital board are Seat A, a one-year term, and Seat E, a three-year term.

Two seats are open on the combined Central Peninsula Medical Service Area-Central Emergency Service Area. James E. Chambers of Soldotna is seeking a three-year term in Seat D. No one has signed up to run for the other three-year term, Seat C.

Seats F and G are open on the Nikiski Fire Service Area Board, both three-year terms. Incumbent Stanley Gerhauser of Nikiski has filed for Seat F.

Incumbents Charles L. Grimm of Kenai and R.F. "Stu" Stuart of Kenai have signed up to run for re-election to Seat D and Seat E (both two years) on the Nikiski Senior Service Area Board. Delbert Dale Aldridge of Kenai has filed for Seat A, a three-year term.

Beth Ann Jones of Kenai has filed for Seat D (three years) on the North Peninsula Recreation Service Area. She is an incumbent. No one has filed for Seat C, a three-year term.

Three incumbents are all that have filed for seats on the South Peninsula Hospital Service Area Board. Bob Plymire of Homer will seek re-election to Seat C, a three-year term. Likewise, Valerie Byrd and Jay Kennelty, both of Homer, will seek re-election to Seat G (one year) and Seat I (one-year), respectively.

Three seats are open on the Kachemak Emergency Service Area Board. Incumbent Brian Howard of Homer will seek re-election to Seat B, a three-year term. No one has yet filed for Seat A (two years) or Seat C (three years).

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us