Current weather

  • Scattered clouds
  • 54°
    Scattered clouds

Getting started:

Posted: Sunday, August 14, 2005

The following is a listing of Kenai Peninsula Borough district schools, contact numbers, start and stop times, Web addresses and registration times.

Some schools already have held registration. Parents and guardians will need to call the school to make an appointment.

Aurora Borealis Charter

School hours:

8 a.m. to 2:45 p.m.

Contact information:

Administrator - Larry Nauta

lnauta@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Anita LeDoux,

aledoux@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

705 Frontage Road, Suite A

Kenai, AK 99611

283-0292

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/abcs/ShowcaseWeb/ showcase.htm

Chapman Elementary

School hours:

8:40 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.

Registration dates: 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday, Thursday and Friday

Contact information:

Administrator - Sharon Conley

sconley@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Debbie Poindexter

dpoindexter@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 1109

Anchor Point, AK 99556

235-8671

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/chapman/main/chapman.html

Connections

Office hours:

8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Soldotna)

8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (Homer)

Registration: Open enrollment through October

Contact information:

Principal-teacher - Lee Young

lyoung@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Admin-Secretary - Kay Harris

kharris@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Admin. Secretary Julie Nichols

jnichols@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

152 E. Park Ave.

Soldotna, AK 99669

714-8880

connect.kpbsd.k12.ak.us/

Cooper Landing

School hours: 9 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Registration: 9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Mon-day and Tuesday

Contact information:

Principal - Mark Norgren

mnorgren@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Barb Atkinson

batkinson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 990

Cooper Landing, AK 99572

595-1244

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/cles/

Fireweed Academy

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Contact information:

Lead teacher - Kiki Abrahamson

kabrahamson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Carol Aderhold

caderhold@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 474

Homer, AK 99603

235-9728

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/fireweed/

Homer Flex (High)

School hours:

7:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Registration: Ongoing, call to schedule an appointment

Contact information:

Principal-teacher - Karen Wessel

kwessel@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Laura Norton

lnorton@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

4122 Ben Walters Lane

Homer, AK 99603

235-5558

Homer High

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Registration: 9 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m.to 3 p.m. new students Monday

Contact information:

Principal - Ron Keffer

rkeffer@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Dan Beck

dbeck@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Attendance Secretary - Cindy Koplin

ckoplin@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Viki Searle

vsearle@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

600 E. Fairview Ave.

Homer, AK 99603

235-8186

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/hhs/Web%20Pages/main/home.html

Homer Middle

School hours:

8:35 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - James Cammon

jcammon@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Marcia Boone

mboone@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

500 Sterling Hwy.

Homer, AK 99603

235-5291

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/homerms/

Hope

School hours:

8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Registration: 9 to 11 a.m. Thursday

Contact information:

Principal - Mark Norgren

mnorgren@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Marion Leamy

mleamy@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 47

Hope, AK 99605

782-3202

Kachemak Selo

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Randy Creamer

rcreamer@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Tiffany Suscha

tmitchell@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 15007

Fritz Creek, AK 99603

235-5552

Kaleidoscope

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:25 p.m.

Registration: Admission is open to students throughout the district, but space is limited. Students were chosen based on an enrollment lottery held in spring.

Contact information:

Principal - Jacquie Steckel

jsteckel@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Linda Hibberd

Linda_Hibberd@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

549 N. Forest Drive

Kenai, AK 99611

283-0804

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/kaleidoscope

Kalifornsky Beach

School hours:

7:55 a.m. to 2:25 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Sylvia Reynolds

sreynolds@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Debbie Tressler

dtressler@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

1049 Poppy Lane

Soldotna, AK 99669

262-1463 (phone)

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/kbeach

Kenai Alternative High

School hours:

8 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.

Registration: Admission is based on recommendations and an application and interview process. Registration is taken at the beginning of each of five segments of the school year.

Contact information:

Principal - Gregg Wilbanks

gwilbanks@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Phyllis Halstead

phalstead@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

705 Frontage Rd., Suite C

Kenai, AK 99611

283-7844

Kenai Central High

School hours:

7:45 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Alan Fields

afields@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Loren Reese

lreese@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Connie Jung

cjung@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

9583 Kenai Spur Hwy.

Kenai, AK 99611

283-7524

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/kchs/launch/

Kenai Middle

School hours:

7:50 a.m. to 2:25 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Paul Sorenson

psorenson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Ron Hatcher

rhatchet@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Cindy Fusaro

cfusaro@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

201 Tinker Lane

Kenai, AK 99611

283-4896

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/kms/

Kenai Youth Facility

Contact information:

Teacher - Cathy Kibling

Catherine_Kibling@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

405 Marathon Road

Kenai, AK 99611

335-3343

McNeil Canyon

School hours:

7:50 a.m. to 2:20 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Pete Swanson

pswanson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Laura Sheldon

lsheldon@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

52188 East End Road

Homer, AK 99603

235-8181

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/mcneil

Moose Pass

School hours:

8:45 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Registration: 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Thursday and Friday

Contact information:

Principal - Mark Norgren

mnorgren@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Melanie Schilling

mschilling@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 46

Moose Pass, AK 99631

288-3183

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/moosepass

Mountain View

School hours:

8:45 a.m. to 3:25 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Jim Dawson

jdawson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Darolyn Brown

dbrown@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

315 Swires Road

Kenai, AK 99611

283-6148

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/mtn.view

Nanwalek Elementary-High

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Registration: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Thursday and Friday

Contact information:

Principal-teacher - Mike Sellers

msellers@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Carol Kvasnikoff

ckvasnikoff@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 8007

Nanwalek, AK 99603

281-2210

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/nanwalek/

Nikiski Middle-Senior High

School hours:

7:45 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - John O’Brian

jobrian@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Dan Carstens

dcarstens@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Margie Warner

mwarner@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 7112

Nikiski, AK 99635

776-3456

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/NikMH/

Nikiski-North Star

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Lori Manion

lmanion@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Kellie Steiner-Kelso

kkelso@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 8629

Nikiski, AK 99635

776-5575

Nikolaevsk School

School hours:

8 a.m. to 2:25 p.m.

Registration: 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Aug. 15-16

Contact information:

Principal - Sharon Conley

sconley@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Ducla Laslter

dlaslter@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 5129

Anchor Point, AK 99556

235-8972

235-3617 (fax)

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/nikolaevsk

Ninilchik School

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal Terry Martin

tmartin@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary Patricia Tilbury

Patty_Tilbury@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 39010

Ninilchik, AK 99639

567-3301 (phone)

myschoolonline.com/site/0,1876, 7411-151120-6-2043,00.html

Paul Banks

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Benny Abraham

babraham@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Debbie Turkington

dturkington@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

1340 East Road

Homer, AK 99603

235-8161

235-8163 (fax)

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/paulbanks/

Port Graham

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Registration: 8:30 a.m. to noon and 1 to 3:30 p.m. Thursday and Friday

Contact information:

Principal - Mike Sellers

msellers@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Olga Famin

afamin@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 5550

Port Graham, AK 99603

284-2210

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/ptgraham/

Razdolna

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal Ray Hillman

rhillman@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 15098-FCB

Homer, AK 99603

235-6870

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/raz/images/index.html

Redoubt

School hours:

8:50 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - John Pothast

jpothast@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Elena Horton

ehorton@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

486 W. Redoubt

Soldotna, AK 99669

262-9006

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/redoubt/home.html

Sears Elementary

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:25 p.m.

Registration: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday and Tuesday

Contact information:

Principal - John Cook

jcooks@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Kimb Remsen

kremsen@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

549 N. Forest Drive

Kenai, AK 99611

283-4826

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/sears/

Seward Elementary

School hours:

8:20 a.m. to 2:50 p.m.

Registration: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on going

Contact information:

Principal - David Kingsland

dkingsland@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Nancy Anderson

nanderson2@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 247

Seward, AK 99664

224-3356

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/seward.elem/sewhome.html

Seward High

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3:20 p.m.

Registration: 9 a.m. to noon and 1-4 p.m. Monday; and 1-4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday

Contact information:

Principal - Steve Pautz

spautz@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Sharon Ackerson

sackers@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 1049

2100 Swetmann

Seward, AK 99664

224-3351

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/sewardhigh/

Seward Middle

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 2:25 p.m.

Registration: 9 a.m. to noon and 1 to 4 p.m. Monday; and 1 to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday

Contact information:

Principal - John Cote

jcote@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Ruth Atkinson

ratkinsons@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 1049

2000 Swetmann

Seward, AK 99664

224-3351

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/sewardhigh/

Skyview High

School hours:

7:55 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Registration: Sophomores, 8 to 11 a.m. Monday; freshmen noon to 3 p.m.; and open registration from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Randy Neill

rneill@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Bob Ermold

bermold@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Carol Kier

ckier@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

46188 Sterling Hwy.

Soldotna, AK 99669

262-7675

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/skyview/skyview

Soldotna Elementary

School hours:

8:40 a.m. to 3:25 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Carolyn Cannava

ccannava@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Michelle Gabriel

mgabriel@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

162 Park Ave.

Soldotna, AK 99669

262-4919

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/solel/

Soldotna High

School hours:

7:50 a.m. to 2:25 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Todd Syverson

tsyverson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Al Howard

howarda@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Stephanie Bohrnsen

sbohrnsen@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

425 W. Marydale

Soldotna, AK 99669

262-7411

k12.ak.us/sohi/

Soldotna Middle

School hours:

7:45 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.

Registration: New students 9 a.m. to noon and 1 to 4 p.m. Monday.

Contact information:

Principal - Sharon Moock

smoock@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Asst. Principal - Ben Eveland

beveland@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Sylvia Burford

sburford@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary-receptionist - Leanne Abendroth

labendroth@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

426 W. Redoubt

Soldotna, AK 99669

262-4344

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/solmid

Soldotna Montessori

School hours:

8:55 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.

Registration: Admission is open districtwide; space is limited; and enrollment is based on a lottery held in the spring.

Contact information:

Principal - Mo Sanders

msanders@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Lisa Dehlbom

ldehlbom@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

162 Park Ave.

Soldotna, AK 99669

260-9221

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/montessori

Spring Creek School

Registration: There is no registration period for the school. Students are assigned to the program through the legal system.

Contact information:

Principal-teacher Wayne Young

wyoung@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary Cindy Clark

cclark@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 2822

Seward, AK 99664-2822

224-7497

Sterling

School hours:

8:55 a.m. to 3:35 p.m.

Registration: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday through Friday

Contact information:

Principal - Christine Ermold

cermold@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Iona Mahan

imahan@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Drawer 89

Sterling, AK 99672

262-4944

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/sterling/Sterling Home/index.html

Susan B. English

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.

Registration: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday

Contact information:

Principal - Curtis Liberty

cliberty@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Sandra Geagel

sgeagel@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 171

Seldovia, AK 99663

234-7616

seldovia.com/nav_school.htm

Tebughna

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:20 p.m.

Registration: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday and Tuesday

Contact information:

Principal-teacher - Sandra Miller

smiller@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 82010

Tyonek, AK 99682

583-2291

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/bartlett/default.htm

Tustumena

School hours:

9 a.m. to 3:34 (grades 1 to 3); 9 a.m. to 3:40 p.m. (grades 4-6)

Registration: 9 to 11:30 a.m. and 1 to 3 p.m. Monday and Tuesday.

Contact information:

Principal - Ken Halverson

khalverson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Pauline Mills

pmills@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Drawer 177

Kasilof, AK 99610

262-4844

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/tustumena

Voznesenka

School hours:

8:30 a.m. to 3:05 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Ray Hillman

rhillman@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Ksenia Kuzman

kkuzman@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

P.O. Box 15336

Fritz Creek, AK 99603

235-8549

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/voz/

West Homer

School hours:

8:25 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Contact information:

Principal - Charlie Walsworth

cwalsworth@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Secretary - Jean Calhoun

jcalhoun@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

3719 Soundview Ave.

Homer, AK 99603

235-5660

kpbsd.k12.ak.us/whe/index.php



CONTACT US

  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING

MORRIS ALASKA NEWS