2 run for borough mayor

Only Sprague, Moss unchallenged in assembly races

Posted: Friday, August 16, 2002

The race for mayor of the Kenai Peninsula Borough apparently will come down to a choice between incumbent Mayor Dale Bagley and Ken Lancaster, currently a member of the Alaska House of Representatives.

Assembly President Tim Navarre dropped out of the mayor's race last week, but by the borough's 4:30 p.m. filing deadline Thursday, no one else had signed up to run in the race for mayor, a contest that has often drawn multiple candidates.

Personnel in the borough clerk's office were busy recording last-minute filings late Thursday. A temperamental fax machine wasn't helping matters, according to one staffer.

As of 5:30 p.m. Thursday, the latest data available on the borough's Web site included the following candidates in the following races. Additions may have been made afterward.

Redistricting created all new boundaries for the nine Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly districts and the terms of the seven seats up for grabs vary from one to three years in length in order to allow for a rotation in future elections. Several races are contested. Others are not. The new district names appear in parentheses.

In the new District 1 (Kalifornsky), John C. Davis and Ronald J. Johnson, both of Kenai, are vying for a one-year term.

In District 2 (Kenai), incumbent Tim Navarre, of Kenai, will face recent assembly appointee and former elected assembly member Betty Glick, also of Kenai. It is a three-year term.

In District 4 (Soldotna), incumbent Pete Sprague faces no opposition in his bid for the two-year term.

In District 5 (Sterling/Funny River), incumbent Grace Merkes will face Marty T. Anderson. It is a three-year seat.

In District 7 (Central), incumbent Paul Fischer is being challenged by Doug Ruzicka, of Anchor Point, and Paul Zimmerman, of Kasilof. It is a two-year seat.

In District 8 (Homer), incumbent Chris Moss is unchallenged in the race for the three-year seat.

In District 9 (South Peninsula) incumbent Milli Martin will face Faith L. Schade, of Homer. It is a one-year term.

In the election for a trio of three-year seats on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Board of Education, incumbent Debra Mullins, of Kenai, faces Gene Dyson, of Soldotna, for Seat A. Incumbent John Nels Anderson, of Soldotna, is running for Seat B without a challenger. Incumbent Margaret M. Gilman, of Kenai, also is unchallenged for Seat C.

Three seats are open on the Anchor Point Fire and Emergency Service Area. Incumbent Roberta J. Proctor, of Anchor Point, has filed for Seat D, a one-year term. As of 5:30 p.m. Thursday, no one was listed for Seats A and E, each a three-year seat.

Three seats also are open on the Bear Creek Fire Service Area Board where incumbent Jerry L. Woods, of Seward, has filed for Seat B, a two-year seat. No one was listed for Seat A and Seat E, a two-year and a three-year seat respectively.

The Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area Board's three open seats drew a candidate each. Incumbent Billy D. Thompson, of Kenai, is running for Seat A, a one-year term, while Edale L. Clark has filed for Seat B, a three-year term. Incumbent Gene Dyson, of Soldotna, has filed for Seat C, a three-year term.

Incumbent Howard T. Davis, of Clam Gulch, was the only candidate to file for the lone three-year Seat E on the Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area/Central Emergency Service Area Board.

In the race for two open seats on the Kachemak Emergency Service Area Board, incumbent Scott M. Cunningham, of Homer, filed for Seat A's three-year term, while Brian L. Howard, filed for the one-year term of Seat B.

The Nikiski Fire Service Area has two open seats. Incumbent Sharon M. Brower filed for Seat D, a three-year term, while Dan Hammond filed for Seat E, also a three-year term.

One race in the Nikiski Senior Service Area has become a contest. Diana K. Summers has challenged incumbent Wayne L. Pattison in the race for Seat C, a two-year term. Incumbent James L. Evenson has filed alone for Seat B, also a two-year seat. No one was listed as running for Seats D and E, both three-year terms.

Two candidates have filed for the single three-year Seat E on the North Peninsula Recreation Service Area. They are Patti Floyd, the incumbent, and Douglas M. Grzybowski.

Seven seats are open on the South Peninsula Hospital Service Area. By 5:30 p.m. Thursday, however, only six candidates had filed, each for a different seat. Bettyann Steciw, of Anchor Point, filed for Seat B, a one-year term; Tammy Jones, of Homer, filed for Seat C, a one-year term, and incumbent David W. Green, of Homer, filed for Seat D, a three-year term.

Jacqueline J. Dentz, of Homer, who would have been the incumbent in the race for Seat G, filed instead for Seat E, a three-year term. Incumbent Karen R. Berg-Forrester, of Homer, filed for Seat F, a three-year term, and Colleen M. Behen, of Fritz Creek, filed for Seat G, a two-year term. No one was listed as having filed for Seat I, a two-year term.

If voters approve creation of the service area in the Oct. 1 election, five seats on the Anchor Point Port and Harbor Service Area will be filled. Jim Beaudry and Joe Tracy, both of Anchor Point, face each other in a bid for the one-year Seat A.

Meanwhile, the other four seats up for grabs drew single candidates each. Don N. Bunker, of Anchor Point, is seeking Seat B, a two-year term; John B. Phillips, of Anchor Point, is running for Seat C, also a two-year term; Daniel L. Mumey, of Anchor Point, is running for Seat D, a three-year term, while Mike O'Meara, of Anchor Point, is in the race for the three-year term of Seat E.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us