New candidates mix with returnees on municipal ballots

Filing deadline passes

Posted: Thursday, August 17, 2000

Kenai Peninsula residents will have some new representation in the borough government this fall.

Several officials have declined to file for re-election, leaving seats on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly and the borough's school board open to challengers. But many incumbents also have filed, and some of the other names on the ballots belong to people who held office in years past.

Tuesday was the filing deadline for the borough and most municipalities on the peninsula.

Voters will go to the polls Oct. 3 for the municipal election to select representatives for the borough assembly, city councils, school board and a host of service area boards.

The lists of candidates have not been verified yet. Preliminary lists, as of Wednesday, showed the following candidates:

Kenai Peninsula

Borough Assembly

(Three-year seats)

District 1 -- Kenai South

William "Bill" Popp of Kenai (incumbent). Popp works as the fleet sales manager at Kenai Chrysler and was coordinator of the Challenger Center of Alaska during its construction.

District 6 -- Seward (Incumbent Patrick O'Brien did not file to run.)

Ronald "Ron" E. Long of Seward. A marine surveyor, Long serves on the Seward Port and Commerce Advisory Board.

Matt Hall of Seward. A veterinarian, he is the vice president of the Seward Chamber of Commerce.

District 9 -- Diamond Ridge and Seldovia

(Incumbent Drew Scalzi did not file for re-election and is running for a seat in the Legislature instead.)

Mildred "Millie" Martin of Homer. Retired, Martin has served two terms on the Kenai Peninsula Borough School Board and is on the Kachemak Bay Planning Commis-sion.

Brentley D. Keene of Homer. A teacher, Keene served three terms on the borough assembly from 1982 to 1991.

Steve P. Chmielowiec of Anchor Point. Retired from the Navy, he serves on the Anchor Point Planning and Advisory Commission.

Annitta Roberts of Nikola-evsk. Retired and with a background in journalism, she serves on the Nikolaevsk Community Council and with VISTA.

Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Board

(Three-year seats)

Seat D

Susan F. Larned of Soldotna (incumbent). A preschool owner and teacher, she has served two terms on the school board.

Al Poindexter of Anchor Point. A retired teacher and greenhouse owner, he served one term on the borough assembly from 1988 to 1991.

Faron E. Owen of Kenai. The director of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council, he served on the district's School to Careers Advisory Committee.

Seat E

(Incumbent Mari-Anne Gross did not file for re-election)

Gene Dyson of Soldotna. A retired custodian, he has served on the district's finance and budgeting committees.

Joe Arness of Nikiski. Manager of the Kenai Merit Inn, he served one term on the borough assembly and three terms on the school board ending in 1999.

Kenai City Council

(Two seats elected at large for three-year terms)

Pat Porter (incumbent)

Bill Frazer (incumbent)

John "Ozzie" Osborne

Soldotna City Council

(Three-year terms)

Seat A: Jim Stogsdill (incumbent)

Seat C: Dave Carey (incumbent)

Homer Mayor

(Two-year term)

Jack Cushing (incumbent)

Harry E. Gregoire

Homer City Council

(Two seats elected at large for three-year terms)

Ray E. Kranich Sr. (incumbent)

Bob Cousins

Lawrence-Ray McCubbins

Ann Riedel

Rick Ladd

Seward City Council

(Three seats elected at large for two-year terms)

Michael B. Calhoon (incumbent)

Jerry F. King (incumbent)

Vanta Shafer (incumbent)

Pat Sterling

Service area boards

Anchor Point Service Area

Seat A (two-year term): Paul Roderick, Joe Tracy

Seat C (three-year term): Jim Pastro, Rocky H. Frank

Seat D (three-year term): Robert W. Craig

Seat E (two-year term): no filers

Bear Creek Fire Service Area

Seat E (two-year term): no filers

Seat D (three-year term): no filers

Central Peninsula Hospital Service Board

Seat A (one-year term): no filers

Seat D (three-year term): no filers

Seat E (three-year term): Susan Jelsma of Soldotna

Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area/Central Emergency Service Area

Seat A (one-year term): Robin E. Pennington of Sterling

Seat C (three-year term): Jim Chambers of Soldotna

Nikiski Fire Service Area

Seat F (three-year term): Stan Gerhauser

Seat G (three-year term): Louis F. Oliva

Nikiski Senior Service Area

Seat A (three-year term): Denise G. Anderson, Ann E. Krogseng

North Peninsula Recreation Service Area

Seat B (one-year term): Stan Gerhauser, Paul P. Lorenzo

Seat C (three-year term): Peter F. Mysing

Seat D (three-year term): Beth Ann Jones

South Peninsula Hospital Service Area

Seat A (three-year term): Julie Woodworth

Seat B (three-year term): Eileen R. Bechtol

Seat C (three-year term): Larry W. McRae

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us