Several candidates running unopposed

Posted: Sunday, August 17, 2003

The race for Kenai City Council seats is crowded, but that's the exception for the Oct. 7 municipal election.

When the filing period ended Friday, only one out of three assembly seats attracted a candidate besides the incumbents. Four school board incumbents face no challengers. No one filed for one school board seat. Incumbents Sharon Moock and Jim Stogsdill are shoo-ins for the two open Soldotna City Council seats.

The following is a look at how the races stack up.

Kenai Peninsula

Borough Assembly

District 1 (Kalifornsky) incumbent John Davis of Kenai will face Dan Chay of Kenai for the three-year term.

Ron Long, the incumbent from Seward, will have no challengers in his bid for re-election from District 6, the East Peninsula district.

Likewise, Mildred "Milli" Martin of Diamond Ridge will not be challenged as she seeks re-election to the District 9 (South Peninsula) seat.

Kenai Peninsula Borough

Board of Education

Voters last fall elected to begin choosing their school board candidates by district this year rather than at-large. Thus, the school board contest includes all nine seats. The seats will be filled as one-, two- and three-year terms to provide for a rotation in future elections.

Lorraine "Sammy" Crawford, the incumbent from Kenai, will face Gene Dyson of Soldotna in the Seat 1 (Kalifornsky) race for a one-year term.

Margaret M. Gilman of Kenai, another incumbent, is unchallenged for Seat 2 (Kenai), a three-year term.

In the race for Seat 3 (Nikiski), a two-year term, incumbent Debra K. Mullins of Kenai will face Victoria "Vicki" E. Pate of Nikiski.

Incumbent John Nels Anderson, of Soldotna, has no challengers in his race for Seat 4 (Soldotna), a two-year term.

School board Seat 5 (Sterling/Funny River), a three-year term, has drawn a pair of candidates: Michele DeMilta of Sterling and Marty T. Anderson of Sterling.

Seat 6 (East Peninsula), a one-year term, has one candidate, Sandra P. "Sandy" Wassilie of Seward.

The Central district's Seat 7 has drawn Debra "Debbie" Holle of Kasilof

and Melanie Osterman of Kasilof to the fray. Seat 7 is a two-year term.

Incumbent Deborah J. Germano of Homer is running unchallenged in the race for Seat 8 (Homer), a three-year term.

No one signed up for Seat 9 (South Peninsula), a one-year term.

Soldotna City Council

In Soldotna where two three-year city council seats are up, only the incumbents holding them now filed candidate forms. Jim Stogsdill, Seat A, and Sharon Moock, Seat C, are unchallenged.

Kenai City Council

On the Kenai City Council, a single two-year seat and a pair of three-year seats are open. Voters will choose one candidate from a field of three for the two-year seat and two candidates from a field of five to fill the two

open three-year seats.

Incumbent John "Ozzie" Osborne will face challengers James Jenckes and Blaine D. Gilman in the race for the two-year seat.

For the two open three-year seats incumbents Amy E. Jackman and Pat Porter are running, as are Rick Ross, Carol A. Brenckle and R. Barry Eldridge.

Borough service area boards

The following are the candidates seeking seats on the various borough service area


Anchor Point Fire Service Area Board: Seat A (two-years), Damon A. McMurray; Seat C (three years), no candidate; Seat D (three-years), Roberta "Robin" J. Proctor; and Seat E (two-years), Maureen Tracy. All have Anchor Point mailing addresses.

Bear Creek Fire Service Area: Seat A (one-year), Jim Ireland; Seat C (three years), David Hayes; Seat D (three years), Daniel C. Logan; and Seat E (two years), Rick Jones. All list mailing addresses in Seward.

Central Peninsula General Hospital Service Area: Seat A (one year), Billy D. Thompson of Kenai; Seat D (three years), Ellen Adlam of Soldotna; and Seat E (three years), Neal D. DuPerron Jr. of Kenai and Kenneth L. Mayer of


Joint Operations Board for the Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area and the Central Emergency Service Area: Seat C (three years), Byron L. Bondurant of Soldotna; Seat D (three years), James E. "Jim" Chambers of Soldotna.

Kachemak Emergency Service Area: Seat A (two years), Samantha A. Cunningham; Seat B (three years), Brian L. Howard; and Seat C (three years), Matthew James. All list Homer mailing addresses.

Nikiski Fire Service Area: Seats F (three years), Stanley Gerhauser, of Nikiski and Seat G (three-years), Louis F. Oliva, of Nikiski.

Nikiski Senior Service Area: Seat A (three years), Delbert Dale Aldridge; Seat D (two years), Charles L. "Chuck" Grimm; and Seat E (two years), R. F. "Stu" Stuart.

North Peninsula Recreation Service Area: Seats C (three years), James R. Price and Seat D (three years), Beth Ann Jones.

South Peninsula Hospital Service Area: Seats A (three years), Doris I. Cabana of Homer; Seat B (three years), no candidate; Seat C (three years), Bob Plymire, of Homer; Seat G (one year), Valerie Byrd, of Homer; and Seat I (one year), Jay Kennelty, of Homer.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us