Service area boards draw contenders

Posted: Wednesday, August 18, 2004

Openings in a number of Kenai Peninsula Borough service area boards have drawn candidates from across the borough.

The following are the final candidates certified to run in the Oct. 5 election:

In the Anchor Point Fire Service Area, a three-year term in Seat B is open, as is a two-year term in Seat C. Current service area chair Karson D. "Dan" Dorvall has filed to re-run for Seat B, while Robert "Bob" Picard is running for Seat C.

Two three-year terms Seats A and B are open in the Bear Creek Fire Service Area, though no candidates have filed.

Five seats are open on the Central Peninsula Hospital Service Area board, and each has drawn one candidate: Peggy Toppenberg, who currently holds Seat F, is running for Seat A; incumbent Neal D. Duperron is running for Seat B; Esther Hopkins is running for Toppenberg's place in Seat F; incumbent Katherine "Kathy" Phillips is running for Seat G; and Eugene "Gene" Boblett is running for Seat E, which currently is vacant.

Central Emergency Service Area Seats A and B, both three-year terms, are open, and Michael A. Larson is the sole candidate filed for the service area. He will run to replace Kurt Olson in Seat B, while Olson is one of four Republicans facing off in the state primary for a seat in the Alaska House of Representatives.

Seats D and E in the Kachemak Emergency Service Area are open, and current board chair Patrick L. Johnson has filed to run for Seat E. Seat D has drawn no candidates.

The Nikiski Fire Service Area board has three openings, which have drawn a total of four candidates. Incumbents Mae M. Leighton and board chair Mark Cialek are running unopposed for their seats, A and B, respectively, while current board member Janet Hilleary will try to defend her position in Seat C against Michele Hartline.

In the Nikiski Senior Service Area, James L. Evenson will run unopposed to retain his place in Seat B, while Alan J. Bute is running unopposed in Seat E. In Seat C, Loretta R. Brown faces Diane K. Summers.

The South Peninsula Hospital Service Area board has five seats up for grabs, all with no opposition. Incumbents Donna Anderson in Seat C and Valerie Byrd in Seat G will run unopposed to retain their positions, while Sandra L. Stark is running for Seat H, which is being vacated by secretary Angelo J. Hillas. Seats B and I have drawn no candidates.

Every seat on the seven-member Seward-Bear Creek Flood Service Area board is up for re-election this year. Timothy L. McDonald is unopposed for the three-year Seat C; James E. McCracken is unopposed in the two-year Seat E; and Claudia J. Neklason is unopposed in the three-year Seat F. Bill D. Wil-liamson will face Peter E. Simon for a one-year term in Seat D. No one is running for Seat G.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us