Sports Briefs

Posted: Wednesday, August 23, 2000

Elton McGahan wraps up 410 class

Elton McGahan, buoyed by a strong performance on his home track in the final event of the season, clinched the inaugural Alaska Sprint Tour's 410 class season title Friday evening.

Nikiski's McGahan drove his open-wheeled, winged sprint car to a third-place finish in the trophy dash, first-place finishes in heat one and heat two and a second-place finish in the main event on the Twin City Raceway.

McGahan's 461 points from Friday's competition gave him 2,282 for the season to lead the 410 class. Kenai's Jackie McGahan was fourth in the point standings at 1,771; Randy Barnes, also of Kenai, was fifth at 852 and Marty Fell of Kenai was sixth with 75 points.

Lory Mace of North Pole ran away with the 360 class title, racing for a season total of 2,338 points, 1,029 better than second-place Tracy Anacker.

Elton McGahan's stiffest competition during Friday's 410 class races came from Jackie McGahan. Jackie was second in the trophy dash, heat one and heat two, and finished third in the main event.

Robert Hansen of Wasilla won the trophy dash in the main event.

Alaska Sprint Tour

Final Series Point Standings

410 Class

1. Elton McGahan, 2,282; 2. John McDonald. 1,996; 3. Robert Hansen, 1,986; 4. Jackie McGahan, 1,771; 5. Randy Barnes, 852; 7. Marty Fell, 75.

360 Class

1. Lory Mace, 2,338; 2. Tracy Anacker, 1,309; 3. John McCarthy, 1,162; 4. Bob Erdman, 938; 5. Robert Packard, 869; 6. Randy Barnes, 785; 7. Tony Harris, 507; 8. Bill Balog, 455; 9. Bobby Violet, 401; 10. Marty Fell, 106; 11. Dave Hughes, 69.

Friday's results at Twin City Raceway

410 Class

Trophy Dash -- 1. Robert Hansen, 2. Jackie McGahan, 3. Elton McGahan, 4. Randy Barnes, 5. John McDonald.

Heat 1 -- 1. Elton McGahan, 2. Jackie McGahan.

Heat 2 -- 1. Elton McGahan, 2. Jackie McGahan, 3. Robert Hansen, John McDonald.

Main Event -- 1. Robert Hansen, 2. Elton McGahan, 3. Jackie McGahan, 4. John McDonald.

360 Class

Trophy Dash -- 1. Tracy Anacker, 2. Lory Mace, 3. Bobby Violet, 4. John McCarthy, 5. Tony Harris, 6. Bob Erdman.

Heat 1 -- 1. Tracy Anacker, 2. Bobby Violet, 3. Lory Mace, 4. Bob Erdman, 5. John McCarthy, 6. Tony Harris, 7. Tracy Harris.

Heat 2 -- 1. Tracy Anacker, 2. Lory Mace, 3. Bobby Violet, 4. John McCarthy, 5. Tracy Harris.

Main Event -- 1. Tracy Anacker, 2. Lory Mace, 3. Bob Erdman, 4. John McCarthy, 5. Bobby Violet, 6. Tracy Harris, 7. Tony Harris.

Kenai-Nikiski starting time moved up

The starting time for Friday's high school football game between Kenai and Nikiski has been moved up half an hour to take advantage of the available daylight.

The junior varsity teams will butt heads at 3:30 p.m., followed by the varsity game, which is scheduled to kick off at 6:30 p.m.

Tyson fined, not banned, by British Boxing Board

LONDON -- Mike Tyson was fined $187,500 Tuesday for his behavior after his 38-second victory over Lou Savarase but escaped a ban from fighting again in Britain.

U.S. women hoopsters tame Canada

SAN ANTONIO -- A long layoff and the absence of two stars proved no problem for the U.S. women's basketball team.

Yolanda Griffith and Natalie Williams led a strong inside game Tuesday night as the United States began its final march to the Sydney Olympics with an 81-40 victory over the Canadian Olympic team.

UAA chooses Georgian as new athletic director

ANCHORAGE -- The athletic director at a Georgia college has been hired to run the sports department at the University of Alaska Anchorage, UAA announced Tuesday. Steve Cobb will succeed Harry Larrabee.

who left the UAA athletic director job to move back to his hometown in Indiana to be a high school basketball coach.

Cobb has been athletic director at Georgia Southwestern State University for five years. He previously worked as an assistant football coach at colleges in Iowa and Texas.

Dennis Stauffer, UAA's director of recreational sports, will serve as interim athletic director until Cobb arrives.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us