Eskelin, Brehm win Morgan Memorial

Posted: Monday, August 28, 2006

Todd Eskelin avoided blowup holes to win his second straight Donald R. Morgan Memorial Kenai Golf Association Annual Championship on Sunday at Kenai Golf Course.

Eskelin had a two-day total of 16-over-par 160 to finish three shots clear of Eldon Harvey, Tommy Carver and Doug Jung. Rachelle Brehm cruised to victory in the Woman’s Flight with a two-day total of 185. Brehm won her first Morgan title by topping runner-up Kathy Heus by 41 strokes.

After an 80 on a rainy Saturday, Eskelin started Sunday in second place, two strokes behind John Dahlgren. Including Eskelin, seven golfers were within five strokes of the lead entering the final day of play.

“I thought it would take a sub-80 round to beat everybody,” Eskelin said. “I just wasn’t shooting that well. I wasn’t making putts when I needed to. I really didn’t think I was playing well enough to win.”

Eskelin had a 40 on the front nine. When he made the turn, he saw that Doug Jung had jumped into the lead of the tournament with an even-par 36 on the front nine. At that point, Eskelin said he didn’t think he would have a chance unless he was in the 30s on the back nine. After a double bogey on No. 12 and a bogey on No. 13, Eskelin figured he had shot himself out of the tournament.

“I kept grinding it out and made a few pars, and it turns out it was a good thing I did that,” Eskelin said.

After the bogey on No. 13, Eskelin made all pars coming in except for a bogey on No. 18. Jung had finished his round and came out to watch Eskelin on No. 15. After a brief discussion with Jung, Eskelin learned he had a good shot at winning the tournament.

Eskelin was still alive because many of the contenders had fallen victim to the Kenai Golf Course’s reputation for dishing out blowup holes.

There were five players within three shots of the lead heading to the back nine. Jung took himself out of the tournament with 8s on the par-5 11th and the par-4 17th. Ken Liedes was in Eskelin’s group and was beating Eskelin until the last two holes. Liedes had an 8 on No. 17 and a 7 on the par-4 18th.

Dahlgren’s run at the title ended with a 9 on No. 11. Eldon Harvey avoided the big hole, but his five bogeys and four pars were not enough to make up the needed strokes on the back nine.

“I wasted a lot of strokes by not making good contact with the ball,” Eskelin said. “The weather today was perfect. There wasn’t any wind. The course is in perfect shape. I just thought somebody would take advantage of it and go low.”

With two Morgan titles in a row and a Peninsula Amateur title earlier this summer, Eskelin has made a rapid ascent to the top of the peninsula golf scene. He started playing the game just six years ago.

“When I find something I want to do, I attack it until I perfect it,” Eskelin said. “I’m pretty impatient. If something’s not going well for me, I quit that and find a new expensive hobby.”

Brehm is in her fourth year in the Kenai Golf Association. After last year’s tournament, she made it a goal to win this year.

“I practiced a lot and concentrated more when I was on the course,” Brehm said. “I’ve played 22 or 24 rounds this year.”

Dahlgren was the First Flight net champion, while Jung was second and Carver was third. In the Second Flight, Jeff Cocker was low net while Charlie Kahakauwila was second and Jerry Norris was third. In the Third Flight, Cliff Baker took low net while John Glidden was second and Cliff Vaught was third. Kamichia Spisak was the women’s low net champion.

Donald R. Morgan Memorial Kenai Golf Association Annual Championship

Saturday, Sunday

at Kenai Golf Course

First Flight Scores Gross Net

Todd Eskelin 80-80 160 148

Eldon Harvey 82-81 163 151

Tommy Carver 82-81 163 147

Doug Jung 83-80 163 145

John Dahlgren 78-86 164 144

Ken Liedes 81-84 165 153

Gordon Griffin 85-81 166 150

Renee Alvarez 81-86 167 151

Eddie Sibolboro 86-82 168 150

Jim Bradford 90-82 172 154

Beau Forest 85-87 172 160

Jesse Wade 86-89 175 155

Bill Burtram 82-95 177 157

Alan Wooten 90-88 178 168

Second Flight Scores Gross Net

Jerry Norris 88-83 171 147

Dana Bassel 85-87 172 150

Rich Edwards 86-88 174 148

Jeff Cocker 89-85 174 146

Mike Navarre 89-86 175 155

Chuck Ruppenthal 89-88 177 151

Charlie Kahakauwila 90-87 177 147

Felix Martinez 90-88 178 154

Dwight Kramer 93-90 183 157

Zach Beeson 83-105 188 166

Noel Widmayer 91-97 188 160

Barry Jackman 97-99 196 168

Bill Davis W/D

Third Flight Scores Gross Net

Cliff Baker 88-88 176 142

Cliff Vaught 95-92 187 147

Kirk Hyman 92-96 188 152

Mike Kebschull 95-94 189 157

Keith Stuart 98-94 192 158

Larry Jackson 99-99 198 162

John Glidden 97-101 198 146

Richard Martin 94-108 202 166

Andy Anderson 105-98 203 159

John Johnson 109-107 206 166

Joe Deveaux 108-108 216 170

Roy Wells 114-114 228 180

John Gibson W/D

Woman’s Flight Scores Gross Net

Rachelle Brehm 95-90 185 143

Kathy Heus 116-110 226 160

Patty Rome 111-121 232 160

Kamichia Spisak 108-125 233 145

Teresa Sibolboro 107-129 236 168

Laura Sherwood 144-128 272 186

Shelley Ramsey W/D

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us