Fifth member named to redistricting board

Posted: Wednesday, August 30, 2000

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- All five members have been named to the redistricting board.

Alaska's Supreme Court Chief Justice Dana Fabe on Tuesday appointed Leona Okakok of Barrow. Okakok is the last person named to the five-member board.

Two others were also named to the board this week. Senate President Drue Pearce named Bert Sharp of Fairbanks, while House Speaker Brian Porter named Michael Lessmeier of Juneau.

Last week, Gov. Tony Knowles appointed two members from Anchorage to the board.

Election district lines are redrawn every 10 years following the national census. To ensure fairness, the board's members must include a person from each of Alaska's four judicial districts and one at-large seat.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us