Current weather

  • Scattered clouds
  • 54°
    Scattered clouds

Hometown team honored by Kenai Mayor

Posted: Tuesday, September 12, 2006


  Peninsula Oilers general manager Shawn Maltby receives an official proclamation from Kenai Mayor Pat Porter at Kenai Chamber luncheon.

Peninsula Oilers general manager Shawn Maltby receives an official proclamation from Kenai Mayor Pat Porter at Kenai Chamber luncheon.

For more than three decades the Peninsula Oilers have been bringing the thrill of baseball and cheering for the home team to residents and visitors to the Kenai Peninsula. And through the years there has been plenty to cheer about. Just three seasons after the team was formed in 1974 the Peninsula Oilers Baseball Club won their first National Baseball Congress World Series. In 1993, they won their second and successfully defended their title in 1994 for their third National Baseball Congress World Series championship. As the new millennium dawned the Oilers took yet another Alaska Baseball League Championship and finished a very respectable fourth in the National Baseball Congress World Series and in a very exciting 2006 season the Oilers again captured the Alaska Baseball League Championship, prompting Kenai City Mayor Pat Porter to issue an official proclamation which she presented Shawn Maltby on behalf of the Club at last weeks Kenai Chamber of Commerce luncheon. “Whereas, the Peninsula Oilers Baseball Club, has brought hours of enjoyable baseball to our community and has had many productive seasons giving additional experience needed in ballplayers' career foundations, many of whom have gone on to successful careers in professional baseball; Now therefore I, Pat Porter, Mayor of the City of Kenai, do hereby offer many thanks to Operations Manager Shawn Maltby, Club President Albert Parra, and the Board of Directors for their years of dedication and continued commitment to the Peninsula Oilers Baseball Club; and offer applause to Oilers team members Catcher Kip Masuda; First Baseman Andy Preston; Short Stop Jake Kahaulelio; and Pitcher Jesse Jordan who were named to the 2006 Alaska Baseball League All-League Team, as well as 2006 Alaska Baseball League All-League Coach of the Year Thad Johnson and Jake Kahaulelio sharing the Player of the Year Award,” read Mayor Porter.

In receiving the proclamation for the Club, Shawn Maltby said, “On behalf of the organization, board of directors, and ball team, we are honored to receive this proclamation from Mayor Porter. To me it is a great honor to receive such an award, but we couldn’t continue without the support of our sponsors, fans and tremendous efforts from all our volunteers and host families, thank you for your continued support. This is a great community for baseball and we are already working on the 2007 season and looking for great things next summer.”


  • 150 Trading Bay Rd, Kenai, AK 99611
  • Switchboard: 907-283-7551
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-283-3584
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Business Fax: 907-283-3299
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-335-1257
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback