Sports Briefs

Trio of drivers each win three races Saturday; quarter midgets end season under the lights

Posted: Thursday, September 14, 2006

Cameron McGahan, Joey Essex and Frank Soares each won three races Saturday night in the final races of the season at Twin Cities Raceway.

McGahan dominated the sprint car division, taking home wins in the trophy dash, first heat and main event.

Essex picked up wins in the second heat and main event of the B-Stocks, then picked up a win in the first heat of the Late Models.

Soares won the other three Late Model races, while Debbie Yancy placed first in the A-Stock trophy dash and first heat.

Brian Vukason and Robert Thomas split the A-Stocks, each winning two races.

Saturday was also the last day of dirt track racing for the quarter midgets. Keith Porter won the Trophy Dash Saturday, Steven Young took home a heat win and Annita Braun won the main event.

The quarter midgets still have a couple weekends of racing to go. Pavement series races are set to be held in the Soldotna Sports Center Parking lot Saturdays from noon until 2 p.m. through the end of September.

Kenai Peninsula Racing Lions

At Twin Cities Raceway



Trophy Dash: 1. Robert Thomas; 2. Brian Vukason; 3. Bettis; 4. Mitchel Soares

1st Heat: 1. Brian Vukason; 2. Robert Thomas; 3. Bettis; 4. Jeremy Hart

2nd Heat: 1. Thomas; 2. Vukason; 3. Bettis; 4. Hart

Main Event: 1. Vukason; 2. Bettis; 3. Hart; 4. Thomas


Trophy Dash: 1. Debbie Yancy; 2. Charley Michel; 3. Joe Essex; 4. Ken


1st heat: 1. Yancy; 2. Michel; 3. Essex

2nd heat: 1. Essex, 2. Michel; 3. Yancy; 4. Carlock

Main Event: 1. Essex; 2. Yancy; 3. Michel


Trophy Dash: 1. Frank Soares; 2. Joe Essex; 3. Mike Young; 4. Mike Bailey; 5. Keith Anders

1st heat: 1. Essex; 2. Soares; 3. Anders; 4. Bailey; 5. Young

2nd heat: 1. Soares; 2. Anders; 3. Bailey; 4. Essex

Main Event: 1. Soares; 2. Anders; 3. Bailey; 4. Essex


Trophy Dash: 1. Cameron McGahan, 2. Clifford Barney; 3. Ernie Seager, 4.

Doug Fischer; 5. Pete Ischi

1st Heat: 1. McGahan; 2. Seager; 3. Leroy Perfect; 4. Barney; 5. Ischi; 6. Alex Callihan

2nd Heat: 1. Perfect; 2. Fischer; 3. McGahan; 4. Seager; 5. Callihan; 6. Ischi

Main Event: 1. McGahan; 2. Seager; 3. Perfect; 4. Fischer; 5. Callihan; 6. Ischi


Qualifying: 1. Keith Porter; 2. Annita Braun; 3. Steven Young; 4. Michale and Marah Meyers; 5. Russell Akers

Trophy Dash: 1. Porter

Heat 1: 1. Young; 2. Braun; 3. Porter; 4. Marah Meyers

Main Event: 1. Braun; 2. Porter; 3. Young; 4. Michale Meyers

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us