Alaska Teacher of the Year finalists named

Posted: Wednesday, September 25, 2002

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- State education commissioner Shirley Holloway has named four finalists for 2003 Alaska Teacher of the Year.

The honorees include Dimond High School teacher Art Ayala, Bartlett High teacher Kathryn Berkowitz, Anna Angaiak Bond from the Paul T. Albert Memorial School in Tununak in the Lower Kuskokwim District, and Alicia Lewis, a music teacher at Hunter Elementary in Fairbanks.

Ayala, a retired Army lieutenant colonel, has taught Dimond's Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps students for seven years. Berkowitz, with 18 years of experience, teaches English. Bond has taught middle school writing, reading and math for 17 years. Lewis, with seven years of experience, teaches music.

School districts across the state recommend candidates. The finalists were selected by a screening committee appointed by Holloway. A team of Alaska legislators and elected heads of major parent and education associations will name the winner in November.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us