Stars top all-Northern Lights selections

Posted: Wednesday, October 09, 2002

The Soldotna High School football team's perfect mark in Northern Lights Conference play was rewarded with nine selections to the all-conference first team, including six on offense, led by conference Coach of the Year Sarge Truesdell and Lineman of the Year Caleb Sizemore.

Kenai's Cory Janson leads the Kardinals' eight selections to the team as the Offensive Player of the Year. Janson also fills three of Kenai's eight slots as a halfback and return specialist for the first-team offensive unit and a defensive back on the first-team defense.

Homer's Adam Crum was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Representing the Stars on the first-team offense are fullback Derek Martin, who made quite an impact as a first-year senior, quarterback Eric Simpson, linemen Caleb Sizemore and Josh Brantley, tight end Johnny Howarth and wide receiver Rick Simpson.

The group led the Soldotna offense to the top regular season ranking in the conference with 304 points and 2,746 yards -- 1,841 on the ground and 905 through the air.

Outside linebacker Matt Meacham leads Soldotna's defensive picks, along with linemen Zack Boll and Caleb Sizemore. The Stars defense was ranked second in the NLC and was tied for first with Kenai in points allowed.

Janson ran for 1,209 yards and 16 for the Kardinals offense, and was a threat to score any time he touched the ball -- he added four more touchdowns on kick and interception returns.

Joining Janson on the first-team offense are kicker Micah Reynolds, who set Kenai's season record for extra points, as well as the man that made the kicking game work in long snapper Casey Crowder.

Kenai's defense led the conference during the regular season, allowing 1,203 yards during the course of eight games. Joining Janson on the first-team defense are inside linebacker Dakota Craig, Crowder for his work on the defensive line and TJ Hancock as a utility player.

With 1,419 yards and 20 touchdowns this season, Homer's David Drake was the top rusher in the conference. Leading the way for Drake was first-team center Marcus Kuhns.

Homer's defense, led by Crum, garnered five first-team selections, tops in the conference. Crum anchored Homer's defense at inside linebacker this season. Bryan Smith joins the first team from Homer's linebacking corps while Jon Adams was selected from the Mariners' secondary.

Drake earned a spot on the defensive unit as a punter, and Jake Fraley was named to the first-team defense as a utility player.

Five Skyview players were named to the all-conference first team.

Guard Ryan Staab and tackle Mike Barnes were selected to the first-team offense, and defensive back Lukas Fellman, inside linebacker Trevor Tompkins and lineman Barnes were named to the first-team defense.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us