Around the District

Posted: Wednesday, October 11, 2000

Next week honors bus safety

National School Bus Safety Week begins Sunday.

Schools urge parents and students to take time to review bus and bus stop safety guidelines and to thank bus drivers for the challenging and vital work they do.

District recruiting for calendar committee

The Kenai Peninsula Borough School District is recruiting members to serve on the districtwide Calendar Committee.

This committee will make recommendations to the Board of Education regarding the school calendar for the 2001-02 year and propose tentative calendars for the next two years. Meeting dates are Oct. 31, Nov. 9 and Dec. 4.

If you are a parent of a KPBSD student, consider serving on the committee. Applications may be submitted through your local school or directly to Ed McLain, assistant superintendent of instruction, at 148 Binkley St., Soldotna, AK 99669. The fax number is 262-5867 and e-mail is

Applicants should include full name, address, contact number and qualifications. Committee selections will be based upon potential contributions to the group and districtwide representation.

Submit applications by Oct. 27. Committee membership will be announced shortly thereafter.

School board meets Monday

The Kenai Peninsula Borough School District's Board of Education meets Monday at 7:30 p.m. in the Borough Building in Soldotna. All school board meetings are open to the public.

Agendas are available at the meeting or at the district's Web site at

SoHi announces Students of the Month

Soldotna High School has announced its Students of the Month for September:

Crystal Carlson, science; Jennifer Luckman, health; Tasha Zsoter, art; Anthony Murray, language arts; Kayla Schneider, music; Herbert Martin, social studies; Joshua Gemmell, math; Billy Moiles, physical education; and Janna Schaafsma, foreign language.

Ninilchik names Students of the Month

Ninilchik School has announced its Students of the Month for September:

Brendan Cuffe, seventh-grade physical education; Katie Jean Rea, seventh-grade English; Maureen McCombs, eighth-grade English; Argent Kvasnikoff, ninth-grade English; Dylan McKee, eighth-grade social studies; Alicia Oskolkoff, seventh-grade science; Patrick Tilbury, eighth-grade science; Amy Klapak, biology; A.J. Berger, tri-science; Mike Scalzo, physiology; Katie Jean Rae, seventh-grade math; Gretchen Garroutte, yearbook; and Dale Stradford, English.

Mountain View announces Students of the Month

Mountain View Elementary School in Kenai has announced its Students of the Month for September:

Third-grade: Vanessa Dukowitz, April Pearce, Christina Grimsley, Karisa Hauck and Jessica Carreon.

Fourth-grade: Kiy'a Wilshusen, Bryce Boyle, Eliza Chadwick, Crystal Hayes and Catherine Hoisington.

Fifth-grade: Kirsten Diamond, Jayme Saari, Nikki Morgan, Josh Saari, Kayla Sawyer and David McCune.

Physical education classes for the month were Mrs. Cramer's third-grade; Mrs. Stephens' fourth-grade and Mrs. Keating's fifth-grade.

The Student of the Month luncheon will be Oct. 18 at 11:25 a.m.

VFW offers essay contests

The Veterans of Foreign Wars has announced its scholarship and essay competitions for the 2000-01 school year.

The VFW and Ladies Auxiliary of the Jerry V. Horn Memorial Post No. 10046 in Soldotna again sponsoring the contests for central Kenai Peninsula students.

Students in grades nine through 12 are invited to enter the Voice of Democracy Scholarship Program. Participants will write and then record a three- to five-minute audio essay on the topic: "What Price Freedom?" Entries are due by Nov. 22.

Monetary awards will be made to winners at each school. The first-place winner for the district will receive $1,000 and second place $500. Winners advance to state competition, where the prizes are an additional $1,000 for first, $500 second and $400 for third. Alaska's top winner is eligible to win the national top prize of a $25,000 scholarship and a trip to Washington, D.C.

Students in grades seven and eight may enter the 2000-01 National Youth Essay Scholarship Program. Entrants will write a 300- to 400-word essay on the topic, "What Does it Mean to be Patriotic?"

Three awards will be give per schools, with $75 for first place, $50 for second place and $25 for third place. The local overall winners will earn an additional $500 for first place and $250 for second and advance to state competition. State prizes are U.S. savings bonds of $500 (first), $200 (second) and $100 (third). The top national award is $10,000.

Public, private and home-school students are eligible.

For more information, contact your school or Joe and Rachel Jurco, the VFW program coordinators, at 262-1352.

Mind A-Mazes results announced

Clever students gathered Saturday at Soldotna Middle School to build a better mouse trap -- car. The occasion was the annual Mind A-Mazes contest.

Mind A-Mazes is a team-building, mechanical problem-solving activity focusing on scientific principles. Saturday's event was the celebration of their hard work.

This year's long-term problem was to design a device that would use a mousetrap as its only source of energy. The devices competed in two heats with distance, speed and accuracy determining the scores. Several races proved exciting, and one car traveled a total of 67 feet, according to organizers.

The "spontaneous" problem was to build a toothpick tower in three minutes and test its strength by adding peanuts to a cup placed on top of the tower. The event came off without a hitch and in record time. One tower held up to 77 peanuts.

Here are the winners:

Judge's Choice -- junior division: the Junior No Names Return from Soldotna Elementary. Team members were Sarah Shoemaker, Spencer Tachick and J. Mohorcich; coach was Sara Hepner.

Judge's Choice -- intermediate-senior division: Wired-Up from Soldotna Middle. Team members were Leanne Drown, Kurt Romburg and Sean Lee; coach was Kristin Cannava.

Junior division --

First place, tie: the Super Cows from Redoubt Elementary. Team members were Sierra Ball, Jessica Oglesbee, Mavica McLane and Jake Walgenbach; coach was Cyndi Romberg.

The Wright Brothers from Mountain View Elementary. Team members were Kris Larson, Zach Beeson, Justin Wisniewski and Reed Ehrhardt; coach was Brian Bailey.

Second place: The Junior No Names Return from Soldotna Elementary. Team members were Sarah Shoemaker, Spencer Tachick and J. Mohorcich; coach was Sara Hepner.

Third place: The Victors from Redoubt Elementary. Team members were Thomas Wyatt, Brent Griffen and Zach Walgenbach; coach was Cyndi Romberg.

Intermediate-Seniors division --

First place: Three Blind Mice from Soldotna Middle. Team members were Marci Mohler, Maia Matarrese, Ali Wykis and Ari Goldstein; coach was Tish Hallett.

Second place: Spitfire from Soldotna Middle. Team members were Micah Kuhl, Travis Richardson and Mat Myers; coach was Kristin Cannava.

Third place, tie: The Peoples from Soldotna Middle. Team members were Brian Herring and Trevor Johnson; coach was Kristin Cannava.

The VanderSluis Team from Soldotna Middle. Team members were Stephanie VanderSluis, Bets Pindras, Jaime Miller and Vanessa Wier; coach was Kristin Cannava.

To have information published in Schools, please send a description of the event or accomplishment to Shana Loshbaugh at P.O. Box 3009, Kenai, AK 99611. Information will be accepted by e-mail at or by fax at 283-3299.

The deadline for submission is Thursday at 5 p.m. for publication in the following Wednesday's paper. For information, contact Shana Loshbaugh at 283-7551.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us