Homer area students win duck stamp awards

Posted: Monday, October 14, 2002

Eight Homer area students recently won prizes in the Alaska 2002 Federal Junior Duck Stamp Contest.

Area winners included: Aurora Firth, home school, first, seventh to ninth grade; Barabas Firth, home school, honorable mention, fourth to sixth grade; Silas Firth, home school, honorable mention, kindergarten to third grade; Sara Firth, home school, honorable mention, fourth to sixth grade; Nikita Serebrekoff, Razdolna School, honorable mention, fourth to sixth grade; Iona Basargin, Razdolna, honorable mention, seventh to ninth grade; Alex Martushev, Kachemak Selo, first place, fourth to sixth grade; and Joe Martushev, Kachemak Selo, honorable mention, kindergarten to third grade.

Alex Martushev also won the Betsy Whitehill Determination Award, given to a random repeat participant in honor of Betsy Whitehill, who served as the state contest coordinator from 1995 to 2001. He received a $500 U.S. savings bond.

The Federal Junior Duck Stamp Contest is held in every state. The 2002 Alaska contest received more than 500 entries from 41 schools. The entries are judged in four school-grade categories.

Thirty-six ribbons were awarded to first-, second- and third-place winners, and an additional 53 students earned honorable mentions.

The Alaska "Best of Show," chosen from the 12 first-place winners, goes to compete nationally. First, second and third-place winners of that contest receive a free trip to Washington, D.C., and the overall winning design is made into a commemorative stamp.

Since 1934, waterfowl hunters have been required to buy a duck stamp each year. Money saved from the sale of these stamps, to hunters and nonhunters, is used to purchase wetlands. Since 1934, more than 4 million acres of wetlands have been saved.

Stamps are available through the U.S. Post Office.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us