Bulldogs dot all-conference squads

Even though Nikiski had 2 wins in GLC, coaches heap respect on players

Posted: Sunday, October 14, 2007

The Nikiski football team finished second last in the Greatland Football Conference with a 2-4 record, but coaches showed they had a lot of respect for the Bulldogs in all-conference voting released on Saturday.

The Bulldogs earned four spots on first-team offense and two spots on first-team defense.

"I was surprised to get as many as we did," Nikiski coach Ted Riddall said. "We stayed close in games with Valdez, Eielson, Seward. Some things didn't go our way, but obviously those coaches saw our players playing with effort, and they voted for them."

Beau Calderwood made the first team at defensive back and halfback. Calderwood had 1,238 yards rushing this season.

"He was a workhorse for us," Riddall said. "He had almost 200 yards at Eielson and he didn't play the fourth quarter because he was injured. They couldn't stop him. If he had been healthy, that game would have been about who scored last."

Evan Holloway was the first-team wide receiver, with 27 catches for 522 yards.

"A lot of time, he was getting doubled and he got pretty frustrated at times," Riddall said. "If they were doubling him, that meant that somebody else was open."

Elliott Tuttle made the first team at long snapper and guard, while Hunter Gallien made the first team at center and interior defensive line. Dustin Couch made the second team at tackle.

"We had three guys on the offensive line get first or second team," Riddall said. "That says a lot about our line."

Also for Nikiski, JD Hall was the second-team kicker and Walker Boyle was the second-team outside linebacker.

The offensive player of the year was Chance Renfro of Eielson, the defensive player of the year was Nate Rogers of Valdez, the lineman of the year was Mike Brown of Eielson and the coach of the year was Lea Cockerham of Valdez.

Seward was represented by Dylan Beck at first-team kicker, punter and defensive back, Caleb Cinereski at second-team long snapper, Josh Zimmerman at second-team tackle, Alan Logan at second-team guard and inside linebacker, and Ian Filbert and Josh Zimmerman at second-team interior lineman.

Greatland All-Conference Team

Offensive player of the year Chance Renfro, Eielson.

Defensive player of the year Nate Rogers, Valdez.

Lineman of the year Mike Brown, Eielson.

Coach of the year Lea Cockerham, Valdez.

First-team offense

Quarterback Adam Failing, Valdez.

Halfback Beau Calderwood, Nikiski; Chance Renfro, Eielson.

Return specialist Cody Hedberg, Valdez.

Fullback Israel Morales, Houston.

Wide receiver Evan Holloway, Nikiski.

Long snapper Elliott Tuttle, Nikiski.

Tight end Kevin Barnicle, Eielson.

Tackle Garrett Mooney, Houston; Mike Brown, Eielson.

Guard Elliott Tuttle, Nikiski; Josh Saylors, Valdez.

Center Hunter Gallien, Nikiski.

Kicker Dylan Beck, Seward.

First-team defense

Outside linebacker Chance Renfro, Eielson; Parker Hutchison, Valdez.

Inside linebacker Israel Morales, Houston; Dwayne Fearson, Eielson.

Defensive backfield Beau Calderwood, Nikiski; Dylan Beck, Seward; James Rogers, Valdez.

Interior lineman Mike Brown, Eielson; James Steed, Houston; Hunter Gallien, Nikiski; Nate Rogers, Valdez.

Punter Dylan Beck, Seward.

Utility player Cody Hedberg, Valdez.

Second-team offense

Quarterback Jordan Webb, Houston.

Halfback Brandon Parks, Houston; Austin Starbuck, Valdez.

Fullback Andrew Sprankle, Eielson.

Wide receiver Bryan Mason, Houston; James Rogers, Valdez.

Long snapper Caleb Cinereski, Seward.

Tight end Parker Hutchison, Valdez.

Tackle Dustin Couch, Nikiski; Josh Zimmerman, Seward.

Guard Dwayne Fearon, Eielson; Alan Logan, Seward; Ben Crowley, Houston.

Center Randy Shaffer, Houston.

Kicker JD Hall, Nikiski.

Second-team defense

Outside linebacker Walker Boyle, Nikiski; Brandon Parks, Houston.

Inside linebacker Justin Crowley, Houston; Alan Logan, Seward.

Defensive backfield Bryan Mason, Houston; Colten Growden, Eielson; Shane Crowley, Valdez; Jayce Wells, Valdez; Josh Langfeild, Eielson.

Interior linemen Ian Filbert, Seward; Anthoney Origer, Houston; Josh Zimmerman, Seward; Paul Dunham, Valdez.

Punter Cody Hedberg, Valdez.

Honorable mention offense

Fullback Nate Rogers, Valdez.

Long snapper Randy Shaffer, Houston.

Tight end Jon Stinson, Houston; Robert Perea, Seward.

Tackle Ben Hogue, Seward.

Guard Ian Filbert, Seward; Luke Parson, Eielson.

Center Kevin McKinley, Valdez.

Kicker Nate Rogers, Valdez.

Honorable mention defense

Outside linebacker Nick Spurr, Seward; Kevin Barnicle, Eielson.

Inside linebacker Loyd Kompkoff, Valdez.

Punter Jordan Webb, Houston.

Utility player Kyle Sumner, Houston; Nick Spurr, Seward.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us