Seward, Nikiski honored by GLC

Posted: Sunday, October 24, 2004

Kenai Peninsula teams took the bulk of the major awards in Great Land Conference voting done by the coaches Friday.

Seward's Ray Ledet is the Defensive Player of the Year, Nikiski's John Schwenke is the Lineman of the Year and Seward co-coaches Roger Steinbrecher and Mark Woodward are the Coaches of the Year.

It is the second straight year Schwenke is the Lineman of the Year for the GLC. Schwenke led a powerful rushing attack for the Bulldogs that picked up 1,952 yards rushing in eight games. The senior also was a key cog in Nikiski's defense. He is also on the first-team as a tackle and interior lineman.

Ledet played a key role in helping the Seahawks to a 5-1 record in the conference and a 6-3 record overall. He was on the GLC first team as an interior lineman last year. This year, he is on the first team as a guard on offense and an inside linebacker on defense.

Steinbrecher and Woodward paired up to lead the Seahawks to a second-place finish in the GLC and a playoff berth. The two made a mix of old and new work very well in Seward. Steinbrecher has been with the Seward program since it started, while Woodward just relocated to the Seward area in August. Woodward and Steinbrecher helped lead the Seahawks to their third small-schools playoff berth in four years.

The other major award goes to Eielson quarterback Evan Skinner, who led the Ravens to an undefeated record in the GLC and a second-straight conference crown. He finished the regular season 52-for-88 with 742 yards, 17 touchdowns and just two interceptions, impressive numbers considering the Ravens often kept the ball on the ground to avoid running up the score. In the last game of the regular season against Anchorage Christian Schools, Skinner was 10-for-10 with six touchdowns and 244 yards. Skinner is on the first team at quarterback and outside linebacker.

Other representatives on the offensive first team for Nikiski are halfback Justin Tumbaga, fullback Jared Mazurek and return specialist Travis McGahan. Tumbaga and Mazurek were the third- and fourth-leading rushers on the peninsula, respectively. Tumbaga rushed for 938 yards and 13 touchdowns, while Mazurek had 666 yards and seven touchdowns.

McGahan and Mazurek also make appearances on the first-team defense. McGahan receives the honor as an outside linebacker, while Mazurek is listed as a defensive back.

For the Seahawks, Charles Logan makes first-team offense at center while Coty Beck makes first team as a kicker and punter. Seward representatives on first-team defense are Charley Rininger at defensive back and Charles Logan at long snapper.

2004 Great Land All-Conference Selections

Offensive Player of the Year Evan Skinner, Eielson.

Defensive Player of the Year Ray Ledet, Seward.

Lineman of the Year John Schwenke, Nikiski.

Coach of the Year Roger Steinbrecher/Mark Woodward, Seward.


First Team

Quarterback: Evan Skinner, Eielson.

Halfbacks: Justin Tumbaga, Nikiski; Nick Rogers, Eielson.

Fullback: Jared Mazurek, Nikiski.

Wide receiver: Nick Scales, Eielson.

Tight end: Josh Finney, Eielson.

Tackle: John Schwenke, Nikiski; Chris Minsch, Houston.

Guard: Ray Ledet, Seward; Andy Kappler, Houston.

Center: Charles Logan, Seward.

Return specialist: Travis McGahan, Nikiski.

Kicker: Coty Beck, Seward.

Punter: Coty Beck, Seward.

Second Team

Quarterback: Coty Beck, Seward.

Halfbacks: Jake Wilder, Seward; Anthony Senko, ACS; Karl Thistle, Houston.

Fullbacks: Donnie McKey, Eielson; Dan Harvey, Houston.

Wide receiver: Charley Rininger, Seward.

Tight ends: Ryan Dieckgraeff, Seward; Steven Dubose, Houston.

Tackle: Cody Dwyer, ACS.

Guards: Chad Whaley, Eielson; Anthony Coveyou, Nikiski.

Centers: Clinton Banzof, Houston; Zach Clarck, Sitka.

Return specialist: Nick Scales, Eielson.

Kicker: Israel Blatchford, Nikiski.

Punter: Travis McGahan, Nikiski.

Honorable Mention

Quarterback: Travis McGahan, Nikiski.

Wide Receivers: Israel Blatchford, Nikiski; Mark Manuci, Sitka.

Guard: Andrew Alutius, ACS.

Punter: Dan Harvey, Houston.

Return Specialist: Steven Dubose, Houston; Jake Wilder, Seward.


First Team

Outside Linebackers: Travis McGahan, Nikiski; Evan Skinner, Eielson.

Inside Linebackers: Ray Ledet, Seward; Andy Kappler, Houston.

Defensive Backs: Charley Rininger, Seward; Jared Mazurek, Nikiski; Patrick Rogers, Eielson.

Interior Linemen: Cody Dwyer, ACS; John Schwenke, Nikiski; Justin Vasquez, Houston; Chad Whaley, Eielson.

Long Snapper: Charles Logan, Seward.

Utility Player: Solomon Wright, Eielson.

Second Team

Outside Linebackers: Steven Dubose, Houston; Will Gittins, Valdez.

Inside Linebackers: Anthony Coveyou, Nikiski; Josh McDonald, Eielson; Dan Harvey, Houston.

Defensive Backs: Nick Scales, Eielson; Victor Waag, Houston; Jason Coeling, Sitka.

Interior Linemen: Chris Minsch, Houston; Zach Kennedy, Eielson; Tavita Schwenke, Nikiski; Zach Clarck, Sitka.

Long Snapper: Andy Kappler, Houston.

Utility Player: Justin Vasquez, Houston.

Honorable Mention

Outside Linebackers: Josh Finney, Eielson; Anthony Senko, ACS; Zech Hemphill, Nikiski.

Defensive Backs: Ben Kellie, Nikiski; Corey Peterson, ACS; Nick Rogers, Eielson; Isaac Swiderski, Seward; Nathan Kingsland, Seward.

Defensive Lineman: Clinton Banzhof, Houston.

Utility Player: Zech Hemphill, Nikiski; Jake Wilder, Seward.

Long snapper: Joe Keith, Nikiski.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us