Alaska will get federal disaster aid for earthquake

Posted: Sunday, November 10, 2002

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- Alaska will receive federal disaster aid to help recover from the damage caused by Sunday's 7.9 magnitude earthquake.

President George Bush authorized the assistance on Friday, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said FEMA will continue to work with Alaska while the process moves forward.

Gov. Tony Knowles on Wednesday declared the area affected by the earthquake a disaster area, and said he was seeking $25 million to repair damaged highways.

The declaration covers the Fairbanks North Star Borough, the Denali Borough, the Matanuska-Susitna Borough and numerous communities within the Delta-Greely, Alaska Gateway, Copper River and Yukon-Koyukok Regional Education Attendance areas, including the cities of Tetlin, Mentasta Lake, Northway, Dot Lake, Chistochina, Tanacross, Slana and Tok.

Allbaugh said more jurisdictions could be added and additional assistance could be designated later on.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us