Alaska Junior Miss program appreciates community support


Posted: Tuesday, November 27, 2001

The Alaska Junior Miss Scholarship Program held its annual competition Nov. 17 at the Renee C. Henderson Auditorium in Kenai. Seventeen high school seniors from around the state converged on the Kenai Peninsula for a week-long stint in preparation to compete for the title of Alaska's Junior Miss 2002.

Because we are a nonprofit organization, it takes the generosity of others to make our program a success. Therefore, I would like to thank the following individuals and businesses for their contributions:

Alaska Junior Miss Board: Rhonda Orth, Rory Dabney, Linda Schirmers, Kathy Gensel, Sharon Merrill, Teresa Gamble, Kathy Painter; "The Power Within" workshop: Janet Boyce; Drivers: Sharon Merrill, Don Moock, John Steckel, Bruce Schirmers, Ed Painter; Judges: Barb Burgener, Robert Jackson, Krissi Alsworth, Michelle Fischer, Becky Moore; Mock Judges: Kathy Tarr, Steve Horn, Bob Lambe, Rosie Reeder, Marjorie Torgerson; Tabulator: George Stein; Scholastic Panel: Barbara Dilley, Chuck Crapuchettes, Dr. Roger Pearson, Marlene Pearson; Essay Panel: Jane Arneson, Mary Rowley, Bill Reeder; Fitness Choreography: Trish Kopp; Taryn Reese, "Little Sisters" Choreography: Lauralee Smart;

Host Families: Michael and Linda Dubie, Pete and Heidi Iverson, Dan and Kathy Gensel, Dr. Nels and Carla Anderson, Fred and Gloria Hammon, Doug and Stephanie Green, Dr. Bob and Molly Bauder, Larry and Esther Harvey; Hair/Makeup: Halcyon Spalon: Gina Kiel, Abbie McGahan, Lynda Moody, Diane Webb, Cathy Norgren, Tamara Anderson, Tonna Naylor, Sherise Collins, Angie Young, Kami Ulrich, Summer Collins, Judy Keck-Walsh and others; Backdrop Design: Sherrie Sather; Balloon Artistry: Debbie Dominic; Construction Crew: Robert Burgess; Light/Sound: KCHS tech crew; Ticket Sales: Linda Cusack, Jennifer Cowan; Program Hostess: Kelsey Cusack, Jacquelyn Cowan, Ricki Jackson, Brittany Gardner; Official Photographer: Magic Moments; Transpor-tation: Seekins Ford; Intermission and After-Party: Keesha Freeman, Nicole Simpson, Kayla Fowler; Little Sisters: Brittany Hicks, Rachel Grabowski, Josie Smart, Vonna Smart, Angel Spicer, Brittany Bush, Angeleah Woods, Rachelle Forbes;

Donors: BP Exploration, Inc., Magic Moments Photography, Tesoro Alaska, Allan and Alfie Norville, Arby's, Wells Fargo Bank Alaska, N.A., Dr. Marshall Dotson, IBEW Local 1547, Unit 101, Sweeney's Clothing, The Fitness Place, Peninsula Internal Medicine, Rotary Club of Soldotna, First National Bank of Alaska, G&S Construction, Soldotna Dental Clinic, Coca-Cola of Kenai, Kenai Senior Center, Soldotna Chamber of Commerce, Healthy Changes, Kenai Visitors and Cultural Center, Coach Dan Gensel and KSRM Radio 92, Printer's Ink, Best Western King Salmon, Steve Horn and Lisa Parker, Soldotna High School -- Sylvia Reynolds, Isabel's Fine Catering, Signal Communi-cations Inc., Krog's Kamp, Tony Lewis, Dave and Shirley Wallingford, Scottie Turvin, Air Gas, Mike Navarre, Gail Phillips, Jim Steffy, Godfather's Pizza, Soldotna Senior Center, Three Bears, Safeway, Soldotna Church of God, Bruce & Co. Real Estate, Kaladi Brothers Coffee, The Moose is Loose Bakery, Fred Meyer, Jersey Subs, Peninsula Clarion, Grossl Photography, Grace Merkes, JB Stor 'N Lok, Allen Auxier, Red Cabin B&B, Cook Inlet Academy, Debra Howell, city of Soldotna, city of Kenai, Peterkin Distributing, Kenai Mayor John Williams, Judy Salo, Anita and Dan Hakkinen and finally, the patrons who braved the weather to come out and support the event. Thank you all!

Mary Green, state chair

Alaska Junior Miss Scholarship Program

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us