ACS wrestlers defend title

Posted: Sunday, December 05, 2004

Anchorage Christian Schools took first in the debut of the revised Kachemak Conference wrestling tournament Friday and Saturday at Grace Christian School in Anchorage.

ACS had a wrestler in nearly every final of each weight class to accumulate a total of 215 team points and keep the conference crown. ACS coach Jason Hofacker was named the coach of the year, while Grace's Kenny Balfe was named the conference's most outstanding wrestler.

Led by wins from Lance Penhale and Jared Mazurek, Nikiski was in second with 110.5 total team points.

Grace Christian, Houston and Seward rounded out the top five teams.

Austin Vanderford of Ninilchik won another title for the Kenai Peninsula, wrestling to first place at 119 pounds. Seward's Gus Linville, wrestling at 275, won the final title for the Kenai Peninsula.

The top four in each weight class advanced to state. Others earning state berths for the Bulldogs were Jordan McCaughey with a third at 125, Justin Tumbaga with a second at 140, Travis McCaughey with a second at 145, Josh Vance with a fourth at 152 and Dave Rorrison with a fourth at 275.

Voznesenka got berths from Kornily Poluskin with a fourth at 112, Joe Basargin with a third at 119 and Sava White with a fourth at 125. Seward's berths came from Matt Adams with a third at 130, Charley Rininger with a third at 140, William Clock with a fourth at 145, James Aase with a second at 215 and Kabe Tippit with a fourth at 215.

Seldovia's one state berth came from Jimmie Payton, who finished second at 160.

Kachemak Conference Wrestling Tournament

At Grace Christian


Team Scores - 1. Anchorage Christian Schools, 215 points; 2. Nikiski, 110.5; 3. Grace Christian, 96.5; 4. Houston, 92; 5. Seward, 82; 6. Ninilchik, 26; 7. Voznesenka, 20; 8. Seldovia, 13.

Championship Matches

103 - Josh Baker, ACS def. Carlos Arias, ACS

112 - Lance Penhale, Nik. def. Austin Bowden, ACS

119 - Austin Vanderford, Nin. def. Jordan Neace, ACS

125 - Kenny Balfe, GCS def. Gerado Arias, ACS

130 - Jared Mazurek, Nik. def. Jacob Masog, ACS

135 - Zack Shelley, ACS def. Matt Gardner, Hou.

140 - Joe Chistensen, GCS def. Justin Tumbaga, Nik.

145 - William Scott, ACS def. Travis McCaughey, Nik.

152 - Cody Dunbar, ACS def. Grant McGregor, ACS

160 - Michael Flanigan, ACS def. Jimmie Payton, Sel.

171 - Daniel Harvey, Hou. def. Chris Hansen, Hou.

189 - Clinton Banzhaf, Hou. def. Karl Coulombe, GCS

215 - Sam Beecher, ACS def. James Aase, Sew.

275 - Gus Linville, Sew. def. Pat O'Neill, GCS

Third Place Matches

103 - n/a

112 - Hollis Troxel, ACS def. Kornily Poluskin, Voz.

119 - Joe Basargin, Voz. def. Josh Keeling, ACS

125 - Jordan McCaughey, Nik. def. Sava White, Voz.

130 - Matt Adams, Sew. def. Blake Elder, Hou.

135 - Jeff Grey, Hou. def. Travis Machida, GCS

140 - Charley Riniger, Sew. def. Nolan Willis, ACS

145 - Cyle Webb, ACS def. William Clock, Sew.

152 - Casey Hultquist, GCS def. Josh Vance, Nik.

160 - Corey Scott, ACS def. Fred Young, Hou.

171 - Joe Vasakis, ACS def. Nathan Buck, ACS

189 - Bradd Erickson, Hou. def. Charles Howard, ACS

215 - Jeremy Grube, Hou. def. Kabe Tippit, Sew.

275 - Craig Valdez, GCS def. David Rorrison, Nik.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us