Skyview takes Jerry Palmer team duals tournament

Posted: Sunday, December 08, 2002

The Skyview High School wrestling team grappled its way to a first-place finish at the Jerry Palmer team duals tournament Friday and Saturday at Bartlett High School in Anchorage.

The Panthers opened the tournament with a 54-15 team win over the host Bartlett Bears, then notched a 40-13 win over Juneau-Douglas in the tournament quarterfinals Friday.

Skyview advanced to the championship match with a 33-28 win over Wasilla in Saturday's semifinals, then defeated Lathrop 51-18 in the title match.

Brandon Cleveland had the match of the meet against the Warriors in the semifinals, wrestling in the final match of the dual at 140 pounds with the Panthers up 30-28 in the team score. Cleveland took his opponent to overtime, then notched a takedown in the extra period for the three-point win by decision, sending Skyview through to the final.

In the championship dual, the Panthers won seven of their matches by pin, including Shane Michael's effort at 152, Joel Morse at heavyweight, Elliot Gauthier at 103, Eli Hutchison at 112, Clark Buffington at 119, Cody Phipps at 130 and Cleveland at 140.

Also at the tournament, the Soldotna Stars advanced to the consolation bracket final. Soldotna won its opening-round dual 63-10 over Palmer, then dropped its quarterfinal dual 34-26 to the Warriors.

Soldotna defeated Dimond 45-23 in the consolation bracket, then downed Juneau-Douglas 35-26 in the consolation quarterfinals and defeated Service 50-27 to advance to the consolation final.

Soldotna opted out of wrestling the consolation final against the Warriors.

Also at the tournament, a combined Kenai-Homer squad wrestled a pair of competitive duals in losses to Service and Dimond.

Jerry Palmer Tournament


Skyview 51, Lathrop 18

103 -- Elliot Gauthier, Sky, p. Justin Beyer, Lat, 4:06

112 -- Eli Hutchison, Sky, p. Dennis Achman, Lat, 1:28

119 -- Clark Buffington, Sky, p. Zack Deboard, Lat, 3:08

125 -- Jeff Bailey, Lat, dec. Dallas Seavey, Sky, 10-4

130 -- Cody Phipps, Sky, p. James Gates, Lat, 3:41

135 -- Zach Aragon, Sky, dec. Joe Harris, Lat, 7-4

140 -- Brandon Cleveland, Sky, p. James Mills, Lat, 1:38

145 -- Mike Osborn, Lat, p. Jake Savely, Sky, 0:41

152 -- Sane Michael, Sky, p. Andrew Brown, Lat, 5:50

160 -- Sam Denison, Sky, dec. Dustin Borland, Lat, 8-4

171 -- Kyle Vanderwyst, Lat, dec. Zach Rohr, Sky, 18-11

189 -- Justin Rainwater, Sky, dec. Tom Doyle, Lat, 10-7

215 -- Gabe Nicholson, Lat, p. Chris Lawrence, Sky, 0:58

275 -- Joel Morse, Sky, p. David Jamison, Lat, 1:31

ACS takes Area 2 South title

Anchorage Christian Schools won the Area 2 South tournament title Friday and Saturday at Houston High School. Nikiski was fourth behind ACS, Houston and Grace Christian. Seward finished fifth in the team standings and Ninilchik was sixth.

The Bulldogs had a pair of individual champions in Josh Huhndorf at 112 pounds and Anthony Lorenzo at 152. Jordan McCaughey (119), Justin Tumbaga (130), Joey Wicker (135) and David Rorrison (275) wrestled to second-place finishes.

For the Wolverines, Steven Miller won an individual title at 140 while Levi Russell was a runner-up at 160.

Zack Coots won a title at 103 for the Seahawks.

The top four wrestlers from the area meet advance to next week's 1-2-3A state championship meet at Homer High School.

Area 2 South Championships

Friday and Saturday at Houston

Team scores -- 1. Anchorage Christian Schools, 195; 2. Houston, 134.5; 3. Grace Christian, 132; 4. Nikiski, 131; 5. Seward, 125; 6. Ninilchik, 46; 7. Seldovia, 42.

Championship matches

103 -- Zack Coots, Sew, def. Jesse Moe, ACS

112 -- Josh Huhndorf, Nik, def. Jacob Masog, ACS

119 -- Judah Allen, ACS, def. Jordan McCaughey, Nik

125 -- Randy Hauck, ACS, def. Joe Christensen, Gra

130 -- Cody Dunbar, ACS, def. Justin Tumbaga, Nik

135 -- Cody Redford, Hou, def. Joey Wicker, Nik

140 -- Steven Miller, Nin, def. Coty Beck, Sew

145 -- Cyle Webb, ACS, def. Matt Clarkson, Gra

152 -- Anthony Lorenzo, Nik, def. Corky Jones, Gra

160 -- Tran Smyth, Hou, def. Levi Russell, Nin

171 -- Cody Hultquist, Gra, def. George Bjore, Hou

189 -- Robert Mack, Gra, def. Chance Collier, Sel

215 -- Bobby Dunbar, ACS, def. Doug Jones, Sew

275 -- Josh Homan, ACS, def. David Rorrison, Nik

Consolation finals

103 -- Lance Penhale, Nik, def. Gerardo Aria, ACS

112 -- Kenny Balfe, Gra, def. Mallory Smyth, Hou

119 -- Ryan Edmunds, Gra, def. Carolyn Smyth, Hou

125 -- Jason Higbee, Sew, def. Grant McGregor, ACS

130 -- Travis Smith, Hou, def. Jake Moe, ACS

135 -- William Scott, ACS, def. Charley Rininger, Sew

140 -- Charlie Potter, Hou, def. Tom Pargeter, Gra

145 -- Josh Boye, Nik, def. Raymond Grimm, Nik

152 -- Keith Wolfe, Sew, def. Daniel Timmerman, Gra

160 -- Charles Howard, ACS, def. Ryan Gardner, Sew

171 -- Nick Oliveira, Sel, def. Chris Hanson, Hou

189 -- Matt Simpson, Hou, def. Kale Tippit, Sew

215 -- Clinton Banshaf, Hou, def. Tom Bowdon, Sel

275 -- Dylan Dwyer, ACS, def. Hans Alderman, Sew

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us