Origins of BCS

Posted: Monday, December 10, 2001

A brief history of the Bowl Championship Series, which began in 1998:

1998: Florida State completed a one-loss season and coach Bobby Bowden watched from his couch as Miami upset undefeated UCLA, Texas A&M upset undefeated Kansas State and undefeated Tennessee held off Mississippi State on the final day of the season. The results moved the Seminoles into the national title game at the Fiesta Bowl. The Vols won, 23-16.

1999: Smooth sailing as Florida State and Virginia Tech completed perfect seasons, finished 1-2 in the polls and the final BCS standings and played for the title in the Sugar Bowl. The Seminoles won, 46-29.

2000: Miami, with one loss, complained long and hard after finishing No. 2 in the polls but third in the BCS standings. The Hurricanes were .32 points behind Florida State, another one-loss team the 'Canes beat. Undefeated Oklahoma beat the Seminoles 13-2 in the national title game at the Orange Bowl. Miami beat Florida 37-20 in the Sugar Bowl.

2001: Nebraska (11-1), a 62-36 loser to Colorado (10-2) on Nov. 23, beat out the Buffs by five hundredths of a point for second place in the BCS standings and won a spot in the Rose Bowl against Miami. Oregon (10-1) was fourth. Nebraska became the first team to lose its final game of the season and still get to play for a national title.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us