Anchorage police release names of offices in shooting

Posted: Tuesday, December 10, 2002

ANCHORAGE (AP) -- The names of the three police officers who fired their guns Thursday, killing suspected robber Patrick C. Bailey, have been released.

Police officers Michael A. Busey, 43; Gary D. Martin, 40; and Timothy J. McCulley, 36, all fired their weapons, police spokesman Ron McGee said Monday.

Bailey, 33, was suspected of robbing a Tesoro station.

Police stopped a Chevrolet Blazer soon after the crime.

Tyla Regina Castro, 32, the driver, got out of the vehicle when police ordered, but police say Bailey came out pointing a semiautomatic handgun.

Bailey was shot. He died about two hours later at Providence Alaska Medical Center. Police said Bailey had numerous drug convictions and is also suspected in two robberies that occurred hours before the Tesoro hold-up.

Police have released few details about the shooting, including the number of rounds officers fired, how many times Bailey was hit and whether Bailey fired at police.

Officers Busey and Martin have been with the Anchorage Police Department since 1993 and McCulley since 1992. In accordance with department policy, all three men were placed on three days of paid leave as is standard procedure following a shooting, McGee said.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us