Posted: Thursday, December 13, 2001

Many contribute to success of Voice of Democracy program

On behalf of all the members of VFW Post 10046 and its Ladies Auxiliary, we wish to express appreciation to the individuals who willingly donated their time to serve as judges for the VFW-sponsored 2001 Voice of Democracy Scholarship Program. Students in grades nine, 10, 11 and 12 wrote and then recorded their essay on this year's topic, "Reaching Out to America's Future." The judges listened to the tapes and rated them on their originality, content and delivery. This was not an easy task! It took over three hours to listen to and score the 23 tapes that were submitted for judging.

Sincere thanks to the judges: Dayne Clark, professor of business administration and accounting, Kenai Peninsula College; Dorothy Gray, staff development/teacher specialist, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District; Faith Hall, home-school parent; Paul Miller, owner-manager, Trustworthy Hardware; Merrill Sikorski, public relations consultant; Ginger Steffy, director, Kenai Peninsula College; Sam Stewart, director, secondary education and curriculum, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District; Sgt. Charles Tressler, Alaska State Troopers; Shirley Warner, chief of police, Soldotna; and Erica Williamson, membership service manager, Soldotna Chamber of Commerce.

Thanks also to the parents, teachers, principals and counselors who encouraged and/or assisted the students in developing the theme; to Debbie Wells at KSRM who assisted in retaping the students' essays under professional conditions; and to Shana Loshbaugh of the Peninsula Clarion for publicizing and promoting the program. Their professional support of the Voice of Democracy Program is greatly appreciated.

Lee Dotson, commander

Ruby Taylor, auxiliary president

VFW Post 10046

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us