Penn State's Johnson nabs pair of awards

Posted: Friday, December 13, 2002

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) -- Penn State's Larry Johnson ran away with the Maxwell and Doak Walker awards Thursday night during the college football awards show.

The senior tailback won the Maxwell as the nation's best all-around player and the Doak Walker as the nation's top running back. Johnson, a Heisman Trophy finalist, ran for 2,015 yards to become the ninth major college player to run for 2,000 yards in a season.

The 6-foot-2, 222-pound Johnson beat out fellow Heisman finalists Ken Dorsey of Miami and Brad Banks of Iowa for the Maxwell. Dorsey, who led Miami to a second straight perfect regular season and a spot in the BCS national title game, was last year's winner.

The Heisman, college football's top individual award, will be presented Saturday night in New York. Southern California's Carson Palmer and Miami's Willis McGahee are the other finalists.

Johnson won the Doak Walker over McGahee and Colorado's Chris Brown.

Before the awards show, Johnson received the Walter Camp Award as the nation's top college player.

Whether winning all the honors makes Johnson the favorite for the Heisman remains to be seen. Banks was the only other Heisman finalist to pick up an award Thursday, winning the Davey O'Brien quarterback award over Dorsey and Palmer.

Banks, who didn't start a Division I-A game until this season, was the nation's pass efficiency leader, throwing for 2,369 yards with 25 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He also ran for 387 yards and five scores.

The last two O'Brien winners went on to win the Heisman -- Nebraska's Eric Crouch last year, and Florida State's Chris Weinke in 2000.

Maryland linebacker E.J. Henderson, the Terrapins' leading tackler for a third straight season, won the Chuck Bednarik Trophy as the nation's best defensive player.

Henderson, who helped Maryland to a second straight 10-win season with 163 tackles, won the trophy over ends Terrell Suggs of Arizona State and Tommie Harris of Oklahoma.

Washington State defensive tackle Rien Long, who helped the Cougars earn a spot in the Rose Bowl, won the Outland Trophy as the nation's top interior lineman on Thursday night. Long, a 6-foot-6, 286-pound junior, had 13 sacks this season and won the award over Miami center Brett Romberg and Utah offensive tackle Jordan Gross.

Michigan State's Charles Rogers won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver.

Rogers, who caught a school-record 68 passes for 1,351 yards and 13 touchdowns, won the award over Nevada's Nate Burleson and Arizona State's Shaun McDonald.

Kansas State cornerback Terence Newman won the Thorpe Award given to the nation's top defensive back over Ohio State's Mike Doss and Southern California's Troy Polamalu.Colorado's Mark Mariscal won the Ray Guy Award as the nation's top punter over Tennessee's Dustin Colquitt and Kentucky's Glenn Pakulak.

Iowa's Nate Kaeding won the Lou Groza Award given annually to the nation's top kicker over Mike Nugent of Ohio State and Jared Siegel of Oregon.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us