Democrats pick minority leaders

Posted: Tuesday, December 17, 2002

JUNEAU (AP) -- Rep. Ethan Berkowitz was chosen by state House Democrats on Monday to serve again as minority leader next session.

Berkowitz, D-Anchorage, has been House minority leader since 1999. He will serve another two-year term when the Legislature returns Jan. 21.

House Democrats picked Rep. Beth Kerttula, D-Juneau, as minority whip and recommended minority members to standing committees.

Among the recommendations, Reps. Eric Croft, D-Anchorage, Reggie Joule, D-Kotzebue, and Carl Moses, D-Unalaska were tapped to serve on the budget-writing House Finance Committee.

Republicans hold a majority in the House and make final committee assignments. If selected, Joule would replace Rep. John Davies, D-Fairbanks, who unsuccessfully ran for a Senate seat.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us