KCHS Champion Cheerleaders honored

Posted: Tuesday, December 24, 2002

Kenai Central High School cheerleaders traded pom-poms for certificates of commendation last week at the meeting of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. The Assembly unanimously passed a resolution commending the KCHS Squad for winning the 2002 State Championship last month in Anchorage. Members of the squad who were on hand to receive the honor expressed their appreciation with a brief routine and cheer for the local officials.

While these athletes were awarded a small squad championship last season, this year, accompanied by coaches Kelly Gifford and Wendy Rice, the KCHS cheerleaders won the 2002 Alaska Spirit Coaches Association State Cheerleading Championship overall title, in addition to winning this year's five-person stunt competition at Bartlett High School. The Association also recognized Coach Kelly Gifford as "Coach of the Year," The championship squad was made up of Rosie Babcock, Chelsea Deitrich, Amanda Gifford, Lindsey Taylor, Jessica Baumer, Janessa Encelewski, Lindsey Howard, Jessica Thomas, Jennifer Daniel, Christine Gibbs, Megan Moore, and Breezy Saltsgiver.

"The performance of the cheerleading squad was superb and a credit to their parents, school and community," read Assembly president Pete Sprague from the commending resolution.

Subscribe to Peninsula Clarion

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us